JDMCITY.COM
Advertise with us!

Go Back   JDMCITY.COM > Technical Forum > Tuning

Reply
 
Old 05/06/2012, 03:35 PM   #1
4DRLX
JDM Knight
 
4DRLX's Avatar
 
4DRLX is offline
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Indianola
Posts: 717

 
Default Drive for 10 minutes and vtec wont work.

so heres the deal. ( SORRY for the long post )

it all started when my oil pressure unit ( low oil psi ((back of block)) snapped or something. not sure how it happened, but the entire wire got ripped from the unit and was no where to be found behind the intake manifold.

during this time my oil light would stay on.

car still drove perfect and vtec hit everytime.

time passes and gets to the point where vtec would work for 10 minutes of driving or so and then i would climb the tach and vtec would cut in and out. try hitting it again.. no vtec.. keep climbing tach and itll pop code 22

so i replaced my pressure switch

and it still was the same.
-----
now today i read that you can jump the solenoid and pressure switch wire together to fool the ecu into thinking it always has pressure. i did this because it was a easy way to "delete" the vtec control system.

once i did this it instead pop'd code 21 for the vtec solenoid....
so i call up a local shop and buy a vtec solenoid with the housing and it had the plug in the pressure switch spot.

now my car is tuned on chrome so i figured i could always disable my vtec pressure switch and the solenoid altogher.

so thats what ive done i put the new solenoid on and reburned my chip with the pressure switch and solenoid disabled, drove for about 15 minutes and go to hit vtec and it goes in and out of it.. try again and no vtec at all.

so this all leads me to believe that my problem isnt with my solenoid or pressure switch since it behaves the same with them disabled.

hoping the pros can chime in here as im really getting sick of this.

btw the vtp and vts delete was a temporary thing to test a theory, i wouldnt leave it like that. which is why im trying to figure out this damn puzzle.

hope some one can help.


__________________

  Reply With Quote
Old 05/06/2012, 06:55 PM   #2
H22APWRD94
The Tranny Guy
 
H22APWRD94 is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,007

 
Default Re: Drive for 10 minutes and vtec wont work.

Check your oil pressure. If it is too low (which the pressure switch checks) it will not engage vtec because there actually is not enough physical pressure to engage the pins. Takes around 35-36 psi of pressure to engage the sliding pins in the rockers.

  Reply With Quote
Old 05/07/2012, 08:19 AM   #3
4DRLX
JDM Knight
 
4DRLX's Avatar
 
4DRLX is offline
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Indianola
Posts: 717

 
Default Re: Drive for 10 minutes and vtec wont work.

why would my pressure drop after driving?


__________________

  Reply With Quote
Old 05/07/2012, 10:19 AM   #4
H22APWRD94
The Tranny Guy
 
H22APWRD94 is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,007

 
Default Re: Drive for 10 minutes and vtec wont work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DRLX View Post
why would my pressure drop after driving?
When oil warms up, it becomes thinner. Thinner oil moves easier depending on bearing and pump tolerances and creates less pressure. It sounds like it is borderline. Put a pressure gauge on it and see what you are looking at for pressure. You should see 50+psi at 3k rpm after engine is at normal operating temperature. A minimum of 10psi at idle after engine is warmed up.

  Reply With Quote
Old 05/07/2012, 02:25 PM   #5
Dj Technick
テクニック☆スライド
 
Dj Technick's Avatar
 
Dj Technick is offline
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,475

 
Default Re: Drive for 10 minutes and vtec wont work.

Do as he says!



__________________


Damn that's a good lookin' pixel car ;)
  Reply With Quote
Old 05/07/2012, 09:55 PM   #6
4DRLX
JDM Knight
 
4DRLX's Avatar
 
4DRLX is offline
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Indianola
Posts: 717

 
Default Re: Drive for 10 minutes and vtec wont work.

the bolt on the top left of the head is the one i use to check pressure correct? unscrew the bolt and screw pressure guage in.


__________________

  Reply With Quote
Old 05/07/2012, 10:27 PM   #7
H22APWRD94
The Tranny Guy
 
H22APWRD94 is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,007

 
Default Re: Drive for 10 minutes and vtec wont work.

That should give you pressure.

  Reply With Quote
Old 05/08/2012, 11:06 AM   #8
4DRLX
JDM Knight
 
4DRLX's Avatar
 
4DRLX is offline
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Indianola
Posts: 717

 
Default

Havnt had a chance to check it out but after an oil change it seems alot better vtec hit every time today. I would still like to hook up a oil psi guage in the car but im a little nervous about mechanical ones, since i dd this and wouldnt want oil on my work clothes.


__________________

  Reply With Quote
Old 05/08/2012, 01:46 PM   #9
one_slow_ej
JDM Soldier
 
one_slow_ej's Avatar
 
one_slow_ej is offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: E.14th Des Moines!
Posts: 434

 
Default Re: Drive for 10 minutes and vtec wont work.

sounds like it was low on oil, if an oil change fixed the problem.


__________________


used parts, general maintenance, swaps, dyno tunes.


95 civic dx.. 6.9@104mph 1/8 mile
  Reply With Quote
Old 05/08/2012, 03:24 PM   #10
H22APWRD94
The Tranny Guy
 
H22APWRD94 is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,007

 
Default Re: Drive for 10 minutes and vtec wont work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by one_slow_ej View Post
sounds like it was low on oil, if an oil change fixed the problem.
That was my thought Sean, or possibly just some old, old oil. Screaming around with low enough oil pressure that VTEC won't engage is bad for an engine.

  Reply With Quote
Old 05/09/2012, 08:54 AM   #11
Gimpster
JDM Lover
 
Gimpster is offline
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Corn Field
Posts: 89

 
Default Re: Drive for 10 minutes and vtec wont work.

Every VTEC based motor I've had ... very sensitive to oil level. Even slightly dented oil pans have nailed me before too. It was very rare I had a working VTP sensor on any of my swaps (would get broken off in transit) so I just always disabled it in the ROM :)

  Reply With Quote
Old 05/13/2012, 09:41 PM   #12
4DRLX
JDM Knight
 
4DRLX's Avatar
 
4DRLX is offline
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Indianola
Posts: 717

 
Default Re: Drive for 10 minutes and vtec wont work.

wasnt the oil, because it still does it.


__________________

  Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2012, 12:13 AM   #13
H22APWRD94
The Tranny Guy
 
H22APWRD94 is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,007

 
Default Re: Drive for 10 minutes and vtec wont work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DRLX View Post
wasnt the oil, because it still does it.
Have you checked the oil pressure yet. That is the only thing that can physically keep it from engaging. Also, pull off your solenoid assembly and check to make sure that filter is clean.

  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.