JDMCITY.COM
Advertise with us!

Go Back   JDMCITY.COM > Technical Forum > Naturally Aspirated

Reply
 
Old 05/25/2010, 12:16 PM   #1
Duh-kneel
JDM Soldier
 
Duh-kneel's Avatar
 
Duh-kneel is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: IA
Posts: 336

 
Default code 43

Swapped a b16 in a crx. Code 43 comes up. Replaced the fuel pump with walbro 255. Still getn Code 43.
Fuel pressure went from 35 to 55 after installed.. does it need a FPR and adjust it? Put the main relay last year and sometimes i dont hear the fuel pump whine
Any help or ideas would be appreciated. Thanks.

Last edited by Duh-kneel; 05/25/2010 at 12:27 PM.

__________________

Los Angeles LEAKERS Purp&Yellow
  Reply With Quote
Old 05/25/2010, 12:21 PM   #2
erok
F.T.C.
 
erok's Avatar
 
erok is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Des Moines
Posts: 1,826

 
Default Re: code 43

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duh-kneel View Post
Swapped a b16 in a crx. Code 43 comes up. Replaced the fuel pump with walbro 255. Still getn Code 43.
Any help or ideas would be appreciated. Thanks.
o2 sensor.?

  Reply With Quote
Old 05/25/2010, 01:20 PM   #3
ososlohatch
JDM King
 
ososlohatch's Avatar
 
ososlohatch is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: gutter
Posts: 1,753

 
Default Re: code 43

what ecu are you running ??


Code 43 is generally the Oxy sensor being lazy or dead.It's easiest to just replace it than to try and test it. When it dies, the ECU goes into default If you test it, follow the Shop manual and make sure that you use a DIGITAL MULTIMETER ONLY> Analogue ones kill sensors real quick.

Last edited by ososlohatch; 05/25/2010 at 01:28 PM.

__________________

???????{-}-{},{}_{},{}-{-}??????? {}s0sl{}
  Reply With Quote
Old 05/25/2010, 01:44 PM   #4
mycarslow
JDM Knight
 
mycarslow is offline
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: e dale iowa
Posts: 891

 
Default Re: code 43

This is where I love my scan tool and pid list... look up to spec or rang and see if your o2 is active at all


__________________

Built h22 62mm turbo e85
  Reply With Quote
Old 05/25/2010, 02:20 PM   #5
deadmoans
JDM Knight
 
deadmoans's Avatar
 
deadmoans is offline
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Des Moines
Posts: 589

 
Default Re: code 43

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duh-kneel View Post
Swapped a b16 in a crx. Code 43 comes up. Replaced the fuel pump with walbro 255. Still getn Code 43.
Fuel pressure went from 35 to 55 after installed.. does it need a FPR and adjust it? Put the main relay last year and sometimes i dont hear the fuel pump whine
Any help or ideas would be appreciated. Thanks.
check the fuel pressure, fuel pressure regulator or vacuum leaks. Fuel pressure should be at 42psi at idle.


__________________

Cheap, Fast or Reliable, You Can Only Choose Two.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05/25/2010, 03:07 PM   #6
ososlohatch
JDM King
 
ososlohatch's Avatar
 
ososlohatch is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: gutter
Posts: 1,753

 
Default Re: code 43

Quote:
Originally Posted by deadmoans View Post
check the fuel pressure, fuel pressure regulator or vacuum leaks. Fuel pressure should be at 42psi at idle.
also check the fuel filter, just unhook it and turn it up side down to see what the gas looks like that comes out(obviously poor it into a small bucket or coffee can ), I've seen alot of nasty ones.


__________________

???????{-}-{},{}_{},{}-{-}??????? {}s0sl{}
  Reply With Quote
Old 05/25/2010, 07:35 PM   #7
Jovi_Bot_3000
JDM Knight
 
Jovi_Bot_3000's Avatar
 
Jovi_Bot_3000 is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 606

 
Default Re: code 43

Quote:
Originally Posted by ososlohatch View Post
what ecu are you running ??


Code 43 is generally the Oxy sensor being lazy or dead.It's easiest to just replace it than to try and test it. When it dies, the ECU goes into default If you test it, follow the Shop manual and make sure that you use a DIGITAL MULTIMETER ONLY> Analogue ones kill sensors real quick.
Im using a p28 that has a b16 chip in it. The motor is a b16a2, but I don't know if the chip is for jdm b16 or the b16a2....if that even matters.

I researched and code 43 said Fuel Supply System. A faulty o2 sensor will trigger that? (just clarifying)

but yeah, the o2 sensor was one I had laying around from my Acura legend that had like 170k miles on it. Fuel filter I can't remember if I ever changed it but I might as well since they're pretty cheap



__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by RICKYritethere View Post
.... All these Noobs on Jdmcity seem like Spam these days.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05/25/2010, 07:40 PM   #8
Jovi_Bot_3000
JDM Knight
 
Jovi_Bot_3000's Avatar
 
Jovi_Bot_3000 is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 606

 
Default Re: code 43

Quote:
Originally Posted by deadmoans View Post
check the fuel pressure, fuel pressure regulator or vacuum leaks. Fuel pressure should be at 42psi at idle.
Fuel pressure gauge reads 55psi at idle. And I have oem FPR. Back before, the stock pump would give me a pressure of 35psi.

Will I be needing to get an adjustable FPR to lower it to 42psi? Correct me if I'm wrong but I thought the oem FPR was supposed to have fuel set at a specific pressure??


__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by RICKYritethere View Post
.... All these Noobs on Jdmcity seem like Spam these days.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05/25/2010, 10:10 PM   #9
ososlohatch
JDM King
 
ososlohatch's Avatar
 
ososlohatch is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: gutter
Posts: 1,753

 
Default Re: code 43

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jovi_Bot_3000 View Post
Fuel pressure gauge reads 55psi at idle. And I have oem FPR. Back before, the stock pump would give me a pressure of 35psi.

Will I be needing to get an adjustable FPR to lower it to 42psi? Correct me if I'm wrong but I thought the oem FPR was supposed to have fuel set at a specific pressure??
I think thats why someone recommended checking your vacuum lines, If your fpr is not getting enough vacuum it may be causing it to not open properly to return fuel hence creating higher pressure. However thats just a theory or recommendation but a good place to start. Are you throwing any other codes ?? I'd say if your vacuum lines look good get a fuel filter and a 02 sensor and reset your battery and hopefully you are good to go If that doesnt work I'd double check your 4 wire 02 sensor wiring.


__________________

???????{-}-{},{}_{},{}-{-}??????? {}s0sl{}
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/05/2010, 11:21 PM   #10
Jovi_Bot_3000
JDM Knight
 
Jovi_Bot_3000's Avatar
 
Jovi_Bot_3000 is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 606

 
Default Re: code 43

Quote:
Originally Posted by deadmoans View Post
check the fuel pressure, fuel pressure regulator or vacuum leaks. Fuel pressure should be at 42psi at idle.
is that with the vacuum line off during idle?

also a quick question to be sure: MY FUEL FILTER HAS BOTH THE INLET AND OUTLET HOLE ON TOP OF THE FILTER, WHICH HOLE DOES THE PRESSURE GAUGE GO OVER??


__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by RICKYritethere View Post
.... All these Noobs on Jdmcity seem like Spam these days.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/06/2010, 12:13 AM   #11
importsusa
Vinyl Specialist
 
importsusa's Avatar
 
importsusa is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: South DSM,IA
Posts: 2,868

 
Default Re: code 43

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jovi_Bot_3000 View Post
is that with the vacuum line off during idle?

also a quick question to be sure: MY FUEL FILTER HAS BOTH THE INLET AND OUTLET HOLE ON TOP OF THE FILTER, WHICH HOLE DOES THE PRESSURE GAUGE GO OVER??
You can always get a B&M fuel pressure gauge and keep it on there always.....like the pic below!!


__________________

come check us out..............
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/06/2010, 12:26 AM   #12
Jovi_Bot_3000
JDM Knight
 
Jovi_Bot_3000's Avatar
 
Jovi_Bot_3000 is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 606

 
Default Re: code 43

Quote:
Originally Posted by importsusa View Post
You can always get a B&M fuel pressure gauge and keep it on there always.....like the pic below!!
that bay looks similar to my crx...if it actually is, then the only difference would be ... that the fuel pressure gauge in my car is on the inlet hole instead of the outlet as shown in yours....

so is mine over the wrong hole?


__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by RICKYritethere View Post
.... All these Noobs on Jdmcity seem like Spam these days.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/06/2010, 12:59 AM   #13
importsusa
Vinyl Specialist
 
importsusa's Avatar
 
importsusa is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: South DSM,IA
Posts: 2,868

 
Default Re: code 43

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jovi_Bot_3000 View Post
that bay looks similar to my crx...if it actually is, then the only difference would be ... that the fuel pressure gauge in my car is on the inlet hole instead of the outlet as shown in yours....

so is mine over the wrong hole?
gauge goes on the line leading to the fuel rail and not the one going towards the firewall.


__________________

come check us out..............
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/06/2010, 09:38 AM   #14
Jovi_Bot_3000
JDM Knight
 
Jovi_Bot_3000's Avatar
 
Jovi_Bot_3000 is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 606

 
Default Re: code 43

Haha i had a feeling it might be wrong, the fuel pressure gauge was installed by the previous owner so i assumed he knew what he was doing, but i guess not.

Thanks for help!


__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by RICKYritethere View Post
.... All these Noobs on Jdmcity seem like Spam these days.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/06/2010, 11:16 AM   #15
importsusa
Vinyl Specialist
 
importsusa's Avatar
 
importsusa is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: South DSM,IA
Posts: 2,868

 
Default Re: code 43

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jovi_Bot_3000 View Post
Haha i had a feeling it might be wrong, the fuel pressure gauge was installed by the previous owner so i assumed he knew what he was doing, but i guess not.

Thanks for help!
Yes sir...........and as i always tell everyone, unless you know the owners extremely well never assume anything on a vehicle was installed properly. There are many guys on this site I would trust in a heart beat to install things...........and then there are those that think duct tape, glue, and hammers are the ultimate installation helpers...lol


__________________

come check us out..............
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/06/2010, 11:58 PM   #16
H22APWRD94
The Tranny Guy
 
H22APWRD94 is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,007

 
Default Re: code 43

Quote:
Originally Posted by importsusa View Post
Yes sir...........and as i always tell everyone, unless you know the owners extremely well never assume anything on a vehicle was installed properly. There are many guys on this site I would trust in a heart beat to install things...........and then there are those that think duct tape, glue, and hammers are the ultimate installation helpers...lol
Hey, what is wrong with my techniques?

Mike

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/07/2010, 12:11 AM   #17
importsusa
Vinyl Specialist
 
importsusa's Avatar
 
importsusa is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: South DSM,IA
Posts: 2,868

 
Default Re: code 43

Quote:
Originally Posted by H22APWRD94 View Post
Hey, what is wrong with my techniques?

Mike
LOL I was quoting that last part for myself....LOL I love duct tape and when mixed with glue it is stronger then JB Weld....which is why I need the hammer in case them parts get stuck together......... ha ha ha


__________________

come check us out..............
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/08/2010, 10:24 PM   #18
Jovi_Bot_3000
JDM Knight
 
Jovi_Bot_3000's Avatar
 
Jovi_Bot_3000 is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 606

 
Default Re: code 43

My B&M Commandflo came in today. Got it installed.... BUT the lowest i can get it to is 52PSI!!! What is going on now?!?!?! Someone please help....


__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by RICKYritethere View Post
.... All these Noobs on Jdmcity seem like Spam these days.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/09/2010, 09:44 AM   #19
ososlohatch
JDM King
 
ososlohatch's Avatar
 
ososlohatch is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: gutter
Posts: 1,753

 
Default Re: code 43

what fuel pump are you running and what is your idle rpm?


__________________

???????{-}-{},{}_{},{}-{-}??????? {}s0sl{}
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/09/2010, 10:06 AM   #20
Jovi_Bot_3000
JDM Knight
 
Jovi_Bot_3000's Avatar
 
Jovi_Bot_3000 is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 606

 
Default Re: code 43

Quote:
Originally Posted by ososlohatch View Post
what fuel pump are you running and what is your idle rpm?
I am running a Walbro 255. My idle rpm at normal temp is about 900-1000ish.

I installed a new fuel filter and different O2 sensor and they pretty much got rid of my erratic idling. I think the filter was clogged or something.

But other than that, I'm unable to lower my fuel pressure from the 58psi it was at before.


__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by RICKYritethere View Post
.... All these Noobs on Jdmcity seem like Spam these days.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/09/2010, 02:59 PM   #21
ososlohatch
JDM King
 
ososlohatch's Avatar
 
ososlohatch is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: gutter
Posts: 1,753

 
Default Re: code 43

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jovi_Bot_3000 View Post
I am running a Walbro 255. My idle rpm at normal temp is about 900-1000ish.

I installed a new fuel filter and different O2 sensor and they pretty much got rid of my erratic idling. I think the filter was clogged or something.

But other than that, I'm unable to lower my fuel pressure from the 58psi it was at before.
ya, you def need a adj. FPR your stock fpr isnt going to hold up to the pressure the walbro is pushin


__________________

???????{-}-{},{}_{},{}-{-}??????? {}s0sl{}
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/09/2010, 06:57 PM   #22
Jovi_Bot_3000
JDM Knight
 
Jovi_Bot_3000's Avatar
 
Jovi_Bot_3000 is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 606

 
Default Re: code 43

Is there ANY chance the fuel pressure gauge itself, could be the problem? maybe like giving me a wrong reading? Because im not sure how old it is, it was on the car when i bought it. I recently installed a B&M Commandflo (adjustable fuel pressure modifier) and set it to it lowest. Fuel pressure is lower but not the 42PSI i was trying to go for.


__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by RICKYritethere View Post
.... All these Noobs on Jdmcity seem like Spam these days.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/09/2010, 07:36 PM   #23
ososlohatch
JDM King
 
ososlohatch's Avatar
 
ososlohatch is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: gutter
Posts: 1,753

 
Default Re: code 43

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jovi_Bot_3000 View Post
Is there ANY chance the fuel pressure gauge itself, could be the problem? maybe like giving me a wrong reading? Because im not sure how old it is, it was on the car when i bought it. I recently installed a B&M Commandflo (adjustable fuel pressure modifier) and set it to it lowest. Fuel pressure is lower but not the 42PSI i was trying to go for.
I would def rule out a faulty gauge before a faulty B&m fpr

I'd try a good name brand gauge or just go to a local hydrolic shop and get a good gauge


__________________

???????{-}-{},{}_{},{}-{-}??????? {}s0sl{}
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/09/2010, 08:40 PM   #24
Jovi_Bot_3000
JDM Knight
 
Jovi_Bot_3000's Avatar
 
Jovi_Bot_3000 is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 606

 
Default Re: code 43

Quote:
Originally Posted by ososlohatch View Post
I would def rule out a faulty gauge before a faulty B&m fpr

I'd try a good name brand gauge or just go to a local hydrolic shop and get a good gauge
Yeah, I think I'll just go ahead and find a good fuel pressure gauge. I better do it quick, because now my car has somewhat of a problem trying to start-up.


__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by RICKYritethere View Post
.... All these Noobs on Jdmcity seem like Spam these days.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/09/2010, 09:04 PM   #25
ososlohatch
JDM King
 
ososlohatch's Avatar
 
ososlohatch is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: gutter
Posts: 1,753

 
Default Re: code 43

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jovi_Bot_3000 View Post
Yeah, I think I'll just go ahead and find a good fuel pressure gauge. I better do it quick, because now my car has somewhat of a problem trying to start-up.
i'd set you fpr in the middle, adjusting it to lean will cause your car not to start, put it half way out and you should fire up easy again, sound like you just got a chinese fuel gauge


__________________

???????{-}-{},{}_{},{}-{-}??????? {}s0sl{}
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.