JDMCITY.COM
Advertise with us!

Go Back   JDMCITY.COM > Technical Forum > Tuning

Reply
 
Old 03/28/2012, 03:10 PM   #1
HOLLYWOOD
JDM Knight
 
HOLLYWOOD's Avatar
 
HOLLYWOOD is offline
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: IowA
Posts: 515

 
Exclaim ECU chipping: Can any1 chip my ecu to eliminate the 2nd o2 sensor?

1998 honda civic automatic (ya ya I knw autos suck) My CAT is clean but my CEL will stay on for a couple weeks at a time (code says my CAT is dirty... stupid emissions) that tells me I need to eliminate my 2nd o2 sensor to get this CEL to permanently stay off.

Can this be done by having someone Chip my ECU?

Thanks in advanced


__________________

Bicycle
Like freedom? www.ronpaul2012.com
  Reply With Quote
Old 03/28/2012, 07:32 PM   #2
wilson091
(BANNED)
 
wilson091 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 486

 
Default Re: ECU chipping: Can any1 chip my ecu to eliminate the 2nd o2 sensor?

Pherable.net send it in for 70$ get whatever ou want on it, 2 step, higher redline, all kinds of goodies

  Reply With Quote
Old 03/28/2012, 09:59 PM   #3
importsusa
Vinyl Specialist
 
importsusa's Avatar
 
importsusa is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: South DSM,IA
Posts: 2,868

 
Default Re: ECU chipping: Can any1 chip my ecu to eliminate the 2nd o2 sensor?

Sorry I didn't get back to you right away buddy......in town we have Eric from Central Imports.....give them a holler and see what they can do. You could also try fooling the second O2 sensor by adding a spacer on it. This essentially gets it away from the main flow. Problem right now is that with the cat all hollowed out all "debris", which are in the form of blow by from cylinder, will start getting caught by the secondary sensor........this then triggers the ecu and lets you know you have a "problem"....even though you know you don't. So check with Eric first to see if there is a solution via the ecu or if you can get that sensor out of harms way.....lol


__________________

come check us out..............
  Reply With Quote
Old 03/28/2012, 10:46 PM   #4
H22APWRD94
The Tranny Guy
 
H22APWRD94 is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,007

 
Default Re: ECU chipping: Can any1 chip my ecu to eliminate the 2nd o2 sensor?

OBD2A ecu's are not able to be chipped. They run a different type of memory configuration.

Edit: Let me rephrase that, they can be chipped, but not nearly as easily as an OBD1 ECU. They require the desoldering and resoldering of an 84 pin IC. These are soldered in by a very expensive piece of equipment when the ECU's are originally manufactured. They take a great deal of patience and skill, and some expensive tools to complete the job. OBD2A to OBD1 conversion or replacement of your rear O2 sensor would be cheaper.

Last edited by H22APWRD94; 03/28/2012 at 10:56 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03/28/2012, 11:10 PM   #5
Dj Technick
テクニック☆スライド
 
Dj Technick's Avatar
 
Dj Technick is offline
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,475

 
Default Re: ECU chipping: Can any1 chip my ecu to eliminate the 2nd o2 sensor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by H22APWRD94 View Post
OBD2A ecu's are not able to be chipped. They run a different type of memory configuration.

Edit: Let me rephrase that, they can be chipped, but not nearly as easily as an OBD1 ECU. They require the desoldering and resoldering of an 84 pin IC. These are soldered in by a very expensive piece of equipment when the ECU's are originally manufactured. They take a great deal of patience and skill, and some expensive tools to complete the job. OBD2A to OBD1 conversion or replacement of your rear O2 sensor would be cheaper.
Like he said. Replace the o2 is your cheapest option, and as rodney mentioned you can rock a spacer to help it.


__________________


Damn that's a good lookin' pixel car ;)
  Reply With Quote
Old 03/29/2012, 12:40 PM   #6
KA7_Legend
gt4 coming soon
 
KA7_Legend's Avatar
 
KA7_Legend is offline
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: your mom'$ vagina
Posts: 1,437

 
Default Re: ECU chipping: Can any1 chip my ecu to eliminate the 2nd o2 sensor?

If you don't want to use the spacer... just get a jumper harness(obd2 to obd1) and use an obd1 ecu. Example... if its a dx.. use p06 ecu. Or just go with a p28 and chip it. That way if you are planning to do some good mods that need tuning... you will have a chipped p28 ready.

  Reply With Quote
Old 03/29/2012, 02:04 PM   #7
importsusa
Vinyl Specialist
 
importsusa's Avatar
 
importsusa is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: South DSM,IA
Posts: 2,868

 
Default Re: ECU chipping: Can any1 chip my ecu to eliminate the 2nd o2 sensor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KA7_Legend View Post
If you don't want to use the spacer... just get a jumper harness(obd2 to obd1) and use an obd1 ecu. Example... if its a dx.. use p06 ecu. Or just go with a p28 and chip it. That way if you are planning to do some good mods that need tuning... you will have a chipped p28 ready.
Can he do it for an automatic though?


__________________

come check us out..............
  Reply With Quote
Old 03/30/2012, 04:47 PM   #8
KA7_Legend
gt4 coming soon
 
KA7_Legend's Avatar
 
KA7_Legend is offline
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: your mom'$ vagina
Posts: 1,437

 
Default Re: ECU chipping: Can any1 chip my ecu to eliminate the 2nd o2 sensor?

Should be able to. Just have to be an auto p28? Don't quote me though lol.

Hell bring it over and I can 5 speed swap it for you

  Reply With Quote
Old 05/02/2012, 11:29 PM   #9
one-cam
JDM Knight
 
one-cam is offline
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Korn,Iowa
Posts: 758

 
Default Re: ECU chipping: Can any1 chip my ecu to eliminate the 2nd o2 sensor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KA7_Legend View Post
Should be able to. Just have to be an auto p28? Don't quote me though lol.

Hell bring it over and I can 5 speed swap it for you
T


Tuning software can delete any and all sensors on your ecu..


__________________

D16T 89 civic si 405whp 332wtq Jordan@MAP FTW!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.