JDMCITY.COM
Advertise with us!

Go Back   JDMCITY.COM > Technical Forum > Audio/Security/Video

Reply
 
Old 06/09/2009, 10:02 AM   #1
Calaeb08
JDM Soldier
 
Calaeb08 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 129

 
Default amp kit question

Hey im gonna put a system in my car. I always have a hard time finding where to put the wire thru the firewall i try to do it without a drill since i dont have bits or anything, anyone have a good idea of where i could put it thru i dont wanna put in through the door though.

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/09/2009, 10:09 AM   #2
jdmb18hatch
Retired
 
jdmb18hatch's Avatar
 
jdmb18hatch is offline
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,365

 
Default Re: amp kit question

Quote:
Originally Posted by 93camryxx View Post
Hey im gonna put a system in my car. I always have a hard time finding where to put the wire thru the firewall i try to do it without a drill since i dont have bits or anything, anyone have a good idea of where i could put it thru i dont wanna put in through the door though.
depends what size power wire you are running and what vehicle you are working on? best way is drill a hole and use a grommet, but since you dont have drill and/or bits, thats not an option. if your power wire is small enough, 8ga, you can just run it through a factory grommet; hood cable or cruise control grommet . if your using a bigger power wire; 4ga or 0/1ga, you will definitley have to drill and use grommet.

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/09/2009, 10:35 AM   #3
Calaeb08
JDM Soldier
 
Calaeb08 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 129

 
Default Re: amp kit question

its a 4 gauge kit i can go get the stuff where do i get the grommets? and where should i drill?

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/09/2009, 12:11 PM   #4
jdmb18hatch
Retired
 
jdmb18hatch's Avatar
 
jdmb18hatch is offline
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,365

 
Default Re: amp kit question

Quote:
Originally Posted by 93camryxx View Post
its a 4 gauge kit i can go get the stuff where do i get the grommets? and where should i drill?
PM'd

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/09/2009, 10:06 PM   #5
datbeatz88
JDM Soldier
 
datbeatz88's Avatar
 
datbeatz88 is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DMI
Posts: 404

 
Default Re: amp kit question

is there a rubber boot on the bottom of steering colum? a couple of my cars had one i jus cut a hole out an ran the wire. but it depends on what side your battery is on too


__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by zachv365 View Post
x2, Everytime I read something that dude says, my IQ decreases by 10.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/10/2009, 09:02 AM   #6
Calaeb08
JDM Soldier
 
Calaeb08 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 129

 
Default Re: amp kit question

yea ive done that on my bonneville before but my battery is on the other side so im just gonna try what battlehatch told me to do and check under the battery

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/10/2009, 02:05 PM   #7
jdmb18hatch
Retired
 
jdmb18hatch's Avatar
 
jdmb18hatch is offline
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,365

 
Default Re: amp kit question

Quote:
Originally Posted by datbeatz88 View Post
is there a rubber boot on the bottom of steering colum? a couple of my cars had one i jus cut a hole out an ran the wire. but it depends on what side your battery is on too
thats NOT good advice at all......never want to run any wires where there is moving parts....steering rack? wtf?!

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/10/2009, 05:20 PM   #8
datbeatz88
JDM Soldier
 
datbeatz88's Avatar
 
datbeatz88 is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DMI
Posts: 404

 
Default Re: amp kit question

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmb18hatch View Post
thats NOT good advice at all......never want to run any wires where there is moving parts....steering rack? wtf?!
nothing moving in there wtf lol....theres always a rubber boot around it an then thats shit around the moving parts, so my advice wasnt bad! thanks for your 2 cents tho


__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by zachv365 View Post
x2, Everytime I read something that dude says, my IQ decreases by 10.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/11/2009, 03:18 PM   #9
jdmb18hatch
Retired
 
jdmb18hatch's Avatar
 
jdmb18hatch is offline
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,365

 
Default Re: amp kit question

Quote:
Originally Posted by datbeatz88 View Post
nothing moving in there wtf lol....theres always a rubber boot around it an then thats shit around the moving parts, so my advice wasnt bad! thanks for your 2 cents tho
your right... your the professional

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/11/2009, 04:19 PM   #10
Calaeb08
JDM Soldier
 
Calaeb08 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 129

 
Default Re: amp kit question

got it hooked up just where u said

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/11/2009, 10:31 PM   #11
Judd
JDM Soldier
 
Judd's Avatar
 
Judd is offline
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Des Moines
Posts: 304

 
Default Re: amp kit question

Quote:
Originally Posted by datbeatz88 View Post
nothing moving in there wtf lol....theres always a rubber boot around it an then thats shit around the moving parts, so my advice wasnt bad! thanks for your 2 cents tho
You sir are retarded. :thumbsdow:


__________________

1992 Civic Hatch - LS Turbo
2002 Acura RSX - Daily Driver
http://www.GrowYourFlow.com
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/12/2009, 04:44 PM   #12
DA Girl
JDM Fan
 
DA Girl's Avatar
 
DA Girl is offline
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Des Moines
Posts: 42

 
Default Re: amp kit question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Judd View Post
You sir are retarded. :thumbsdow:
x2


__________________

" Is San His Last Name Or A Car Part?"
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/12/2009, 05:34 PM   #13
datbeatz88
JDM Soldier
 
datbeatz88's Avatar
 
datbeatz88 is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DMI
Posts: 404

 
Default Re: amp kit question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Judd View Post
You sir are retarded. :thumbsdow:
an u think i could care less about wat u have to say? um no!! i really dont care so thank you for your 2 cents as well


__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by zachv365 View Post
x2, Everytime I read something that dude says, my IQ decreases by 10.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/12/2009, 06:26 PM   #14
Judd
JDM Soldier
 
Judd's Avatar
 
Judd is offline
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Des Moines
Posts: 304

 
Default Re: amp kit question

Just trying to save people the hassle of hooking their shit up incorrectly.


__________________

1992 Civic Hatch - LS Turbo
2002 Acura RSX - Daily Driver
http://www.GrowYourFlow.com
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/12/2009, 10:00 PM   #15
datbeatz88
JDM Soldier
 
datbeatz88's Avatar
 
datbeatz88 is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DMI
Posts: 404

 
Default Re: amp kit question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Judd View Post
Just trying to save people the hassle of hooking their shit up incorrectly.
well ive never had any problems with my subs and ive been hookin my shit up for 7 years now soo yea... if you got somethin smart to say id leave it to yourself


__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by zachv365 View Post
x2, Everytime I read something that dude says, my IQ decreases by 10.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/12/2009, 10:38 PM   #16
Judd
JDM Soldier
 
Judd's Avatar
 
Judd is offline
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Des Moines
Posts: 304

 
Default Re: amp kit question

Big deal 7 years. I've been doing it much longer than that. Also, Ryan there has done this for a profession for a number of years. Im just saying man, if you want a nice, clean, correct install, your route isn't the right way. I assume that your cd player is also hardwired in with the wires just twisted and electrical taped, wiring that isn't the correct size, and a mess in the trunk?


__________________

1992 Civic Hatch - LS Turbo
2002 Acura RSX - Daily Driver
http://www.GrowYourFlow.com
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/13/2009, 12:52 AM   #17
EM1San
I take pictures
 
EM1San's Avatar
 
EM1San is offline
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bahstun
Posts: 3,234

 
Default Re: amp kit question

Quote:
Originally Posted by 93camryxx View Post
got it hooked up just where u said
Who's way? jdmb18hatch's? That's the way I would trust. He's installed multiple things for me - and I trust him since he was installing at Ford and Garland for a number of years.


__________________

Andrew.
My flick
Facebook
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/13/2009, 07:54 AM   #18
Calaeb08
JDM Soldier
 
Calaeb08 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 129

 
Default Re: amp kit question

yea battle hatches way

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/13/2009, 12:23 PM   #19
jdmb18hatch
Retired
 
jdmb18hatch's Avatar
 
jdmb18hatch is offline
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,365

 
Default Re: amp kit question

Quote:
Originally Posted by datbeatz88 View Post
well ive never had any problems with my subs and ive been hookin my shit up for 7 years now soo yea... if you got somethin smart to say id leave it to yourself
if i had a question bout cleanin the shitters at prarie meadows...you would be thr FIRST person i would come to! as far as electrical....prolly not sorry. i got some jobs i would love for you to come and try to install...haha. you think your a professional, you can handle all my side jobs from now... until you give some helpful "professional" advice.....lick me where i pee!!!

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/13/2009, 04:35 PM   #20
datbeatz88
JDM Soldier
 
datbeatz88's Avatar
 
datbeatz88 is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DMI
Posts: 404

 
Default Re: amp kit question

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmb18hatch View Post
if i had a question bout cleanin the shitters at prarie meadows...you would be thr FIRST person i would come to! as far as electrical....prolly not sorry. i got some jobs i would love for you to come and try to install...haha. you think your a professional, you can handle all my side jobs from now... until you give some helpful "professional" advice.....lick me where i pee!!!
haha ur funny sorry i dont eat stank pussy, and who cleans shitter? not i sorry broner...ur thinkin about the maids....an i wasnt giving you adivce!! neways who gives a fuck....like i said if u have a problem about wat i said address me like a fuckin man instead of talkin shit, everyone on this fuckin site talks shit were here to help either other out, an if someone has there opinion let them say it but dont be a fuckin dick about shit, how is anyone gonna learn anything if someone does something wrong everyone starts to talk shit?

Last edited by datbeatz88; 06/13/2009 at 04:40 PM.

__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by zachv365 View Post
x2, Everytime I read something that dude says, my IQ decreases by 10.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/13/2009, 04:40 PM   #21
TwokSiR
JDM Knight
 
TwokSiR's Avatar
 
TwokSiR is offline
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines
Posts: 874

 
Default Re: amp kit question

If you have been "hookin shit up" for 7 years now you should:
A.) Know better then puing an amp cable through the door
B.) You should know how to get an amp cable through the fire wall.


Don't argue with Ryan (jdmb18hatch) . He has more install knowledge in his left nut then you will ever have.

P.S. Pull that wire out of your steering colum boot and drilll a damn hole. Laze people :thumbsdow:


__________________

Looking for hydro B16 trans parts. Let me know if you have a parts transmission.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/20/2009, 01:00 PM   #22
jdmcb3si
JDM Soldier
 
jdmcb3si is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 171

 
Default Re: amp kit question

the civic has a plastic grommet you can cut a slit in and put your wire through it on the passenger side right under the battery. If you do this though make sure to use some silicone to seal it back up after the wire is passed through.

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/26/2010, 10:56 AM   #23
alexbuck205
JDM Knight
 
alexbuck205's Avatar
 
alexbuck205 is offline
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Indianola
Posts: 929

 
Default Re: amp kit question

We do professional installation at Ultimate and the last choice you want to make is to run it through your steering! you always drill a whole and use a rubber grommet!

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/26/2010, 12:11 PM   #24
jdmb18hatch
Retired
 
jdmb18hatch's Avatar
 
jdmb18hatch is offline
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,365

 
Default Re: amp kit question

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexbuck205 View Post
We do professional installation at Ultimate and the last choice you want to make is to run it through your steering! you always drill a whole and use a rubber grommet!
old thread NOOB... check the dates! also, im pretty sure i got this site handled as far as audio/video/security installations


__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by H22APWRD94 View Post
a friend of a friend who was banging dudes sister, but dudes sister was really a tranny.
Quote:
Originally Posted by importsusa View Post
Ha ha.....I'll run out butt naked with butter rubbed all over while I yell rape.....LOL.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/26/2010, 09:08 PM   #25
alexbuck205
JDM Knight
 
alexbuck205's Avatar
 
alexbuck205 is offline
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Indianola
Posts: 929

 
Default Re: amp kit question

why you gotta be such a jackass?

  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.