JDMCITY.COM
Advertise with us!

Go Back   JDMCITY.COM > Technical Forum > Hybrids & Swaps

Reply
 
Old 05/02/2012, 01:49 AM   #1
EJ8jay
JDM Soldier
 
EJ8jay's Avatar
 
EJ8jay is offline
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Central DMI
Posts: 188

 
Default DC2 auto to manual

I just swapped (with help) my dc2 to a manual and the key won't start the car. I have everything plugged in I didn't change ecu or wiring I glued interlock switch to park so the ecu would read it was in park. Yet I turn key and nothing happens I jumped the starter so I know it works but why wouldn't the key start it. Is there a plug in the engine bay that needs bridged? There are two plugs by trans plug that aren't plugged in as well as another by the passenger side light. Please help (btw car doesn't go into gear with the car on replacing clutch and bearings so I figure that will fix that issue.)


__________________

It's Leopard MAN!!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05/02/2012, 02:11 AM   #2
P98
JDM Knight
 
P98's Avatar
 
P98 is offline
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ottumwa
Posts: 512

 
Default Re: DC2 auto to manual

Have the ground that goes to the trans from the body connected?


__________________

LT1 T/A
  Reply With Quote
Old 05/02/2012, 06:17 AM   #3
importsusa
Vinyl Specialist
 
importsusa's Avatar
 
importsusa is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: South DSM,IA
Posts: 2,868

 
Default Re: DC2 auto to manual

Jason, did you get any of my text messages I sent? Lol. As far as the key problem i am still looking into it....one key factor here is you also need to change ecu to a manual ecu or you'll get an engine check light and a funky running car. When replacing that clutch you will need to do the following to ensure driveability for a couple years, as opposed to a few months.
Flywheel needs to be resurfaced at a machine shop (city brake on 9th does great work)
All bolts on flywheel and pressure plate need to have Blue Loctite and torqued to specs
If you buy an new clutch kit it should have he following (pressure plate, guide tool, disk, throwout bearing (or release bearing) and the pilot bearing which goes to the flywheel after it has been machined). By taking these steps you are making sure EVERYTHING is new and ready. If you skip any of these parts or procedures, I can assure youll have a really bad time with that car.


__________________

come check us out..............
  Reply With Quote
Old 05/02/2012, 08:31 AM   #4
crxh22honda
JDM King
 
crxh22honda's Avatar
 
crxh22honda is offline
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: norwalk
Posts: 1,231

 
Default Re: DC2 auto to manual

Quote:
Originally Posted by importsusa View Post
Jason, did you get any of my text messages I sent? Lol. As far as the key problem i am still looking into it....one key factor here is you also need to change ecu to a manual ecu or you'll get an engine check light and a funky running car. When replacing that clutch you will need to do the following to ensure driveability for a couple years, as opposed to a few months.
Flywheel needs to be resurfaced at a machine shop (city brake on 9th does great work)
All bolts on flywheel and pressure plate need to have Blue Loctite and torqued to specs
If you buy an new clutch kit it should have he following (pressure plate, guide tool, disk, throwout bearing (or release bearing) and the pilot bearing which goes to the flywheel after it has been machined). By taking these steps you are making sure EVERYTHING is new and ready. If you skip any of these parts or procedures, I can assure youll have a really bad time with that car.


You maybe can get a away with not doing this. But your risking alot. When its simple to get gone. An its alot safer. Flywheels can explode an you would be saying goodbye to ur Tranny. Possible even hurting yourself. If you dont resurface your flywheel heat cracks can form alot faster an warping can happen. An that can lead it to breaking. I've seen it happen one time to a srt-4 that was lining against me heated up his tires. An boom trans was destroyed wasn't even connected to the motor anymore Lol.

  Reply With Quote
Old 05/02/2012, 09:16 AM   #5
LowNsloEJ6
1SickUA7
 
LowNsloEJ6's Avatar
 
LowNsloEJ6 is offline
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,929

 
Default Re: DC2 auto to manual

What year is the car? Is it equipped with an immobilizer. When i did my auto to manual I completely eliminated the gear selector and just. Soldered 3wires together


__________________

08 TL-S
97 EJ6 D16Z6
98 EJ6 4Dr D16Y7 project 300,000
  Reply With Quote
Old 05/02/2012, 01:14 PM   #6
EJ8jay
JDM Soldier
 
EJ8jay's Avatar
 
EJ8jay is offline
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Central DMI
Posts: 188

 
Default Re: DC2 auto to manual

So what exactly am I machining just cleaning the surface? Also it's a 1994 it should not have an immobilizer. I do have all grounds properly connected. I even tested continuity to all of them. I can say the ecu thing is correct cause it acts like the IAC valve is dirty now like an erradic idle. lol the key should still come out of the damn car. I'll have a CEL anyway cause I can't find the clutch plug ins inside the car so my clutch switches wouldn't be connected anyway so yeah. I'm not really worried about the CEL right now more concerned about just making it work then cleaning up minor issues in the extremely near futute.


__________________

It's Leopard MAN!!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05/02/2012, 02:06 PM   #7
importsusa
Vinyl Specialist
 
importsusa's Avatar
 
importsusa is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: South DSM,IA
Posts: 2,868

 
Default Re: DC2 auto to manual

Quote:
Originally Posted by EJ8jay View Post
So what exactly am I machining just cleaning the surface? Also it's a 1994 it should not have an immobilizer. I do have all grounds properly connected. I even tested continuity to all of them. I can say the ecu thing is correct cause it acts like the IAC valve is dirty now like an erradic idle. lol the key should still come out of the damn car. I'll have a CEL anyway cause I can't find the clutch plug ins inside the car so my clutch switches wouldn't be connected anyway so yeah. I'm not really worried about the CEL right now more concerned about just making it work then cleaning up minor issues in the extremely near futute.
The machine part will be for the flywheel do it is fresh...it'll take layers off it to make sure that both its surface and disk surface are new and won't cause heat soaking and all other problems associated to flit h issues.. after all is installed, you will need to do a break in period of about 500-600 miles of stop and go driving (no highway miles).


__________________

come check us out..............
  Reply With Quote
Old 05/02/2012, 02:10 PM   #8
EJ8jay
JDM Soldier
 
EJ8jay's Avatar
 
EJ8jay is offline
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Central DMI
Posts: 188

 
Default Re: DC2 auto to manual

lol the stop and go driving shouldn't be a problem so who wants to help me break it in lol what stop lights are quarter mile apart hahaha jk..


__________________

It's Leopard MAN!!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05/02/2012, 02:25 PM   #9
LowNsloEJ6
1SickUA7
 
LowNsloEJ6's Avatar
 
LowNsloEJ6 is offline
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,929

 
Default Re: DC2 auto to manual

Did u swap from a 3 wire IACV to a 2 wire??


__________________

08 TL-S
97 EJ6 D16Z6
98 EJ6 4Dr D16Y7 project 300,000
  Reply With Quote
Old 05/03/2012, 04:34 PM   #10
KA7_Legend
gt4 coming soon
 
KA7_Legend's Avatar
 
KA7_Legend is offline
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: your mom'$ vagina
Posts: 1,437

 
Default Re: DC2 auto to manual

I believe the only iacv that has 3 wires is the y7 and auto y8.

  Reply With Quote
Old 05/22/2012, 12:58 PM   #11
EJ8jay
JDM Soldier
 
EJ8jay's Avatar
 
EJ8jay is offline
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Central DMI
Posts: 188

 
Default Re: DC2 auto to manual

So the only gear it will go into is third with the car on the car drives just wont go into any other gear got my boy Rodney coming tonight keep ya posted.


__________________

It's Leopard MAN!!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05/22/2012, 11:18 PM   #12
importsusa
Vinyl Specialist
 
importsusa's Avatar
 
importsusa is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: South DSM,IA
Posts: 2,868

 
Default Re: DC2 auto to manual

Quote:
Originally Posted by EJ8jay View Post
So the only gear it will go into is third with the car on the car drives just wont go into any other gear got my boy Rodnie coming tonight keep ya posted.
You forgot to mention....problem solved....lol....and I corrected my name....its ie not ey....lol ha ha

Just needed some adjustment on the pedal push rod as suggested by our good friend Mr. Chad Gates. It was the only thing left to check.....lol.

Now, my question is: Did you drive it after I left?


__________________

come check us out..............
  Reply With Quote
Old 05/28/2012, 11:23 AM   #13
NikkyT
JDM Knight
 
NikkyT's Avatar
 
NikkyT is offline
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southside,Dsm
Posts: 868

 
Default Re: DC2 auto to manual

yessir, but we have to figure out this key issue!!!!

  Reply With Quote
Old 05/28/2012, 11:45 AM   #14
EJ8jay
JDM Soldier
 
EJ8jay's Avatar
 
EJ8jay is offline
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Central DMI
Posts: 188

 
Default Re: DC2 auto to manual

No I now have a charging issue I put a good alternator in it the battery was supposedly new I've tested both yet it won't charge wtf?


__________________

It's Leopard MAN!!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05/28/2012, 02:21 PM   #15
KA7_Legend
gt4 coming soon
 
KA7_Legend's Avatar
 
KA7_Legend is offline
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: your mom'$ vagina
Posts: 1,437

 
Default Re: DC2 auto to manual

Check your wiring. Make sure the plug into the alternator is plugged in good. Any cel?

  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.