JDMCITY.COM
Advertise with us!

Go Back   JDMCITY.COM > Manufacturer Forum > Honda/Acura Forum > The Honda Database

Reply
 
Old 10/28/2009, 07:25 PM   #1
jsongkhamdet
JDM Soldier
 
jsongkhamdet's Avatar
 
jsongkhamdet is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 216

 
Default Help Please

My car studders at vtec or when i get into full boost around 4500-5000 rpms...happend out of nowhere...changed out the spark plugs still doesnt fix the problem...the setup is a boosted jdm gs-r (b18c)...any suggestions?? call/text 641-352-9239 thanks!

  Reply With Quote
Old 10/28/2009, 07:57 PM   #2
jsongkhamdet
JDM Soldier
 
jsongkhamdet's Avatar
 
jsongkhamdet is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 216

 
Default Re: Help Please

...

  Reply With Quote
Old 10/28/2009, 08:51 PM   #3
importsusa
Vinyl Specialist
 
importsusa's Avatar
 
importsusa is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: South DSM,IA
Posts: 2,868

 
Default Re: Help Please

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsongkhamdet View Post
...
Have you checked your spark plug wires to see if they have any type of burn marks around the ends going into the spark plugs. Obviously this is a shot in the dark, but checking that also may be a possibility. If theres a burn mark or crack on any of the wires, it'll make the spark arc right to the walls around it.....possibly causing your problem. Start with that and keep posting more problems as they come............remember it is very hard to diagnose your car through the internet. All we can do is suggest possibilities!!


__________________

come check us out..............
  Reply With Quote
Old 10/28/2009, 09:16 PM   #4
jsongkhamdet
JDM Soldier
 
jsongkhamdet's Avatar
 
jsongkhamdet is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 216

 
Default Re: Help Please

well i recently changed my spark plugs and gapped all the plugs to .025-.030...pulled every plug from every cylinder to see if i was gettin a good spark...still seem to have the same problem...i do have a msd 6AL ignition control,msd blaster coil,msd 8mm spark plug wires...

  Reply With Quote
Old 10/28/2009, 09:39 PM   #5
DSM4LIFE
JDM Knight
 
DSM4LIFE's Avatar
 
DSM4LIFE is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Des moines
Posts: 534

 
Default Re: Help Please

boost leak would be my guess

  Reply With Quote
Old 10/28/2009, 09:43 PM   #6
jsongkhamdet
JDM Soldier
 
jsongkhamdet's Avatar
 
jsongkhamdet is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 216

 
Default Re: Help Please

that could be the problem...my have a vacume leak somewhere i believe cuz my boost gauge reads around 15 instead of 20 like it use too...

  Reply With Quote
Old 10/28/2009, 09:45 PM   #7
jsongkhamdet
JDM Soldier
 
jsongkhamdet's Avatar
 
jsongkhamdet is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 216

 
Default Re: Help Please

but would that cause me to cut out at 4500-5000 rpm??

  Reply With Quote
Old 10/28/2009, 09:46 PM   #8
DSM4LIFE
JDM Knight
 
DSM4LIFE's Avatar
 
DSM4LIFE is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Des moines
Posts: 534

 
Default Re: Help Please

does it like stutter and then at higher rpms even back out smooth?

  Reply With Quote
Old 10/28/2009, 09:58 PM   #9
jsongkhamdet
JDM Soldier
 
jsongkhamdet's Avatar
 
jsongkhamdet is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 216

 
Default Re: Help Please

its stutters and doesnt even let me go past 4500-5000 rpm

  Reply With Quote
Old 10/28/2009, 09:59 PM   #10
DSM4LIFE
JDM Knight
 
DSM4LIFE's Avatar
 
DSM4LIFE is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Des moines
Posts: 534

 
Default Re: Help Please

so the rmps stop at 4500-5000 and it wont let you go above that. so it acts like thats the red line? if so your ecu is in limp mode

  Reply With Quote
Old 10/28/2009, 10:05 PM   #11
jsongkhamdet
JDM Soldier
 
jsongkhamdet's Avatar
 
jsongkhamdet is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 216

 
Default Re: Help Please

what caused my ecu to go into limp mode?? im running a chipped p72 (94 gsr)

  Reply With Quote
Old 10/28/2009, 10:10 PM   #12
DSM4LIFE
JDM Knight
 
DSM4LIFE's Avatar
 
DSM4LIFE is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Des moines
Posts: 534

 
Default Re: Help Please

it could be a number of thigs. crank position sensor, knock sensor,its just a game of looking over everything. try to un-hook your battery for like 5-10 mins, this will clear the ecu, like if a check engine light is on, it will re-set it, and take it out on the street and go full throttle, and see if it does it. if it does, then its in limp mode, and you just have to check everything out to make sure something didnt come un plugged. did you get your car tuned by any shop?

  Reply With Quote
Old 10/28/2009, 10:19 PM   #13
jsongkhamdet
JDM Soldier
 
jsongkhamdet's Avatar
 
jsongkhamdet is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 216

 
Default Re: Help Please

My car is running code 8 which is the TDC sensor (top dead center) but its always been on and ive never had this problem...unplugged the batter to reset the ecu still having the same problem and the CEL is still on...my car was tuned in minneapolis.

  Reply With Quote
Old 10/28/2009, 10:21 PM   #14
DSM4LIFE
JDM Knight
 
DSM4LIFE's Avatar
 
DSM4LIFE is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Des moines
Posts: 534

 
Default Re: Help Please

what is it tuned on? if anything i would take it some where and have them look at the ecu and the tune and tell you if anythings wrong

  Reply With Quote
Old 10/28/2009, 10:24 PM   #15
jsongkhamdet
JDM Soldier
 
jsongkhamdet's Avatar
 
jsongkhamdet is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 216

 
Default Re: Help Please

itz tuned with chrome...cars been tuned for a while now and ive never had this problem before...it jus happend out of nowhere...if i was in limp mode wouldnt i be throwing a code??

  Reply With Quote
Old 10/28/2009, 10:25 PM   #16
DSM4LIFE
JDM Knight
 
DSM4LIFE's Avatar
 
DSM4LIFE is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Des moines
Posts: 534

 
Default Re: Help Please

i would imagine. if its throwing the TDC sensor, i would replace it and then take it to a guy or a shop. do you still live where you go it tuned?

  Reply With Quote
Old 10/28/2009, 10:26 PM   #17
jsongkhamdet
JDM Soldier
 
jsongkhamdet's Avatar
 
jsongkhamdet is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 216

 
Default Re: Help Please

Pm'd

  Reply With Quote
Old 10/28/2009, 10:33 PM   #18
DSM4LIFE
JDM Knight
 
DSM4LIFE's Avatar
 
DSM4LIFE is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Des moines
Posts: 534

 
Default Re: Help Please

replied

  Reply With Quote
Old 10/28/2009, 10:40 PM   #19
jsongkhamdet
JDM Soldier
 
jsongkhamdet's Avatar
 
jsongkhamdet is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 216

 
Default Re: Help Please

soo i found out that my ECU is defintaly in LIMP MODE...anyone have any ideas??

  Reply With Quote
Old 10/28/2009, 11:20 PM   #20
jsongkhamdet
JDM Soldier
 
jsongkhamdet's Avatar
 
jsongkhamdet is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 216

 
Default Re: Help Please

im throwing code 8 which is tdc sensor (top dead center) could this be the cause that im running in LIMP MODE??

  Reply With Quote
Old 10/29/2009, 11:06 AM   #21
jsongkhamdet
JDM Soldier
 
jsongkhamdet's Avatar
 
jsongkhamdet is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 216

 
Default Re: Help Please

anyone with any suggestions??

  Reply With Quote
Old 10/29/2009, 12:56 PM   #22
jsongkhamdet
JDM Soldier
 
jsongkhamdet's Avatar
 
jsongkhamdet is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 216

 
Default Re: Help Please

Bump

  Reply With Quote
Old 10/29/2009, 01:21 PM   #23
importsusa
Vinyl Specialist
 
importsusa's Avatar
 
importsusa is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: South DSM,IA
Posts: 2,868

 
Default Re: Help Please

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsongkhamdet View Post
anyone with any suggestions??
PM'd ya man....reply to the PM when ever you get a chance.


__________________

come check us out..............
  Reply With Quote
Old 10/29/2009, 01:28 PM   #24
jsongkhamdet
JDM Soldier
 
jsongkhamdet's Avatar
 
jsongkhamdet is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 216

 
Default Re: Help Please

Replied...thanks

  Reply With Quote
Old 10/29/2009, 07:12 PM   #25
DSM4LIFE
JDM Knight
 
DSM4LIFE's Avatar
 
DSM4LIFE is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Des moines
Posts: 534

 
Default Re: Help Please

just let me know if the dizzy thing works, if not my friend will come look at it

  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.