JDMCITY.COM
Advertise with us!

Go Back   JDMCITY.COM > Manufacturer Forum > Other Manufacturer Forum

Reply
 
Old 11/11/2010, 12:39 AM   #1
Bryce
JDM Lover
 
Bryce's Avatar
 
Bryce is offline
Join Date: May 2010
Location: mitchellville
Posts: 62

 
Default double motor size say....whaaaaaat

so ive had this truck for about 4 years now and it started as a 2.2 from the factory bought it with a 305 and junk trany and mounts so we found a tranny for it went with a 350th and it blew or somethings so went with the 700r4. its sits in the garage all winter so i got crazy and doubled the stock motor size and im droping a 350 rv cam and 400 heads in her so on to the pictures

truck this summer

silly little 305 get outta there

ill take off anything in the way

lets get going

bye bye 305



polished frame anyone

tranny that hopefully holds

headmens for the s10 v8 swap

sup 350

your going on

wheels weld race wheels
thats all for now lmk what you guys think:thumbsdow:

Last edited by Bryce; 11/22/2010 at 03:20 AM.

__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripz_12 View Post
i was just asking haha i tought they were bfffs (best fucking friends for ever)
  Reply With Quote
Old 11/11/2010, 07:42 PM   #2
EM1San
I take pictures
 
EM1San's Avatar
 
EM1San is offline
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bahstun
Posts: 3,234

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa



__________________

Andrew.
My flick
Facebook
  Reply With Quote
Old 11/11/2010, 08:52 PM   #3
LowNsloEJ6
1SickUA7
 
LowNsloEJ6's Avatar
 
LowNsloEJ6 is offline
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,929

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa

Can't wait to get this done. And can't wait to drive it


__________________

08 TL-S
97 EJ6 D16Z6
98 EJ6 4Dr D16Y7 project 300,000
  Reply With Quote
Old 11/11/2010, 09:33 PM   #4
Bryce
JDM Lover
 
Bryce's Avatar
 
Bryce is offline
Join Date: May 2010
Location: mitchellville
Posts: 62

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe View Post
Can't wait to get this done. And can't wait to drive it
That's funny to much powa for you


__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripz_12 View Post
i was just asking haha i tought they were bfffs (best fucking friends for ever)
  Reply With Quote
Old 11/12/2010, 07:50 PM   #5
mycarslow
JDM Knight
 
mycarslow is offline
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: e dale iowa
Posts: 891

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa

put a lq9 in there with a cam and make way more power then that carb v8 is making . you can a low mile running motor for around 1000 and theres people making over 600 with a lil boost . but even in my silverado ss its pretty fast for stock makes 350hp and 380 tq


__________________

Built h22 62mm turbo e85
  Reply With Quote
Old 11/12/2010, 10:35 PM   #6
mattcossel29
jackstand ballin
 
mattcossel29's Avatar
 
mattcossel29 is offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Newton, IA
Posts: 1,064

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa

Well, first off thats about 3 times the size of the original engine.

Second, why would you mess with 400 small block heads on a 350? You have to modify the heads so the steam ports line up. plus with a OE head off of a bigger engine the combustion chamber is usually bigger. This setup would without a doubt make you lose power. Why dont you just take the 305 heads and work them over, punch them out for 2.02/1.60 valves and you would have a higher flowing head with more compression.

The turbo 350 is a good transmission, I would rebuild it if it was salvageable. A lot of the early 700r4s were very questionable for reliability behind a stock motor. Plus with the 700r4 you have to fuck with the throttle valve cable and if those arent set properly you will burn up a transmission in a heart beat.

If this is just a street machine which it appears to be I would get rid of that single plane intake manifold and get a dual plane im. They tend to make a lot of torque down low and are a lot more street friendly if you are using a decent sized cam verses a single plane.


Just my opinion but then again idk anything about these old Chevys.

Oh, I do have a set of 350 heads that have been worked over and have a fresh valve job for sale if you need a good set.

Last edited by mattcossel29; 11/12/2010 at 10:48 PM.

__________________

Romans 6:23 - "For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life through Christ Jesus our Lord."

  Reply With Quote
Old 11/13/2010, 02:13 AM   #7
Bryce
JDM Lover
 
Bryce's Avatar
 
Bryce is offline
Join Date: May 2010
Location: mitchellville
Posts: 62

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattcossel29 View Post
Well, first off thats about 3 times the size of the original engine.

Second, why would you mess with 400 small block heads on a 350? You have to modify the heads so the steam ports line up. plus with a OE head off of a bigger engine the combustion chamber is usually bigger. This setup would without a doubt make you lose power. Why dont you just take the 305 heads and work them over, punch them out for 2.02/1.60 valves and you would have a higher flowing head with more compression.

The turbo 350 is a good transmission, I would rebuild it if it was salvageable. A lot of the early 700r4s were very questionable for reliability behind a stock motor. Plus with the 700r4 you have to fuck with the throttle valve cable and if those arent set properly you will burn up a transmission in a heart beat.

If this is just a street machine which it appears to be I would get rid of that single plane intake manifold and get a dual plane im. They tend to make a lot of torque down low and are a lot more street friendly if you are using a decent sized cam verses a single plane.


Just my opinion but then again idk anything about these old Chevys.

Oh, I do have a set of 350 heads that have been worked over and have a fresh valve job for sale if you need a good set.
I got the motor for free so I'm not complaining and my uncle (who build street rods) had this motor in one of his cars and its fresh so I'm happy with it and the 350 rand 700r4s have diffrent drive shaft sizes so we had to get one custom made so it would of be a waste to rebuild the 350th that's what i want to get back in it eventually how much for the heads and I know its almost triple the size but id rather have double the size the ALMOST triple the size

Last edited by Bryce; 11/13/2010 at 02:18 AM.

__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripz_12 View Post
i was just asking haha i tought they were bfffs (best fucking friends for ever)
  Reply With Quote
Old 11/13/2010, 03:36 AM   #8
mattcossel29
jackstand ballin
 
mattcossel29's Avatar
 
mattcossel29 is offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Newton, IA
Posts: 1,064

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryce View Post
I got the motor for free so I'm not complaining and my uncle (who build street rods) had this motor in one of his cars and its fresh so I'm happy with it and the 350 rand 700r4s have diffrent drive shaft sizes so we had to get one custom made so it would of be a waste to rebuild the 350th that's what i want to get back in it eventually how much for the heads and I know its almost triple the size but id rather have double the size the ALMOST triple the size
Didnt mean to be hostile by any means. Just sharing some information I have learned along the way. Ill ask my dad for sure and see what we can get out of the heads but im sure he wont want much for them because they have been sitting around for a while.

You will also have to come up with a new transmission crossmember for the 700r4 since it mounts differently. Why not stroke it and bore the piss out of it and have OVER three times the size as the original motor?


__________________

Romans 6:23 - "For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life through Christ Jesus our Lord."

  Reply With Quote
Old 11/16/2010, 11:34 PM   #9
Bryce
JDM Lover
 
Bryce's Avatar
 
Bryce is offline
Join Date: May 2010
Location: mitchellville
Posts: 62

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa

the 383 stroker is next dont worry


__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripz_12 View Post
i was just asking haha i tought they were bfffs (best fucking friends for ever)
  Reply With Quote
Old 11/22/2010, 03:24 AM   #10
Bryce
JDM Lover
 
Bryce's Avatar
 
Bryce is offline
Join Date: May 2010
Location: mitchellville
Posts: 62

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa

Just a little update I painted the front part of my frame orange why orange idk I got mad tyte jdm orange stitching type r seats so it matches ill get pictures up when I get on a computer


__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripz_12 View Post
i was just asking haha i tought they were bfffs (best fucking friends for ever)
  Reply With Quote
Old 11/23/2010, 12:06 AM   #11
LowNsloEJ6
1SickUA7
 
LowNsloEJ6's Avatar
 
LowNsloEJ6 is offline
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,929

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa

You can do it from your phone lol


__________________

08 TL-S
97 EJ6 D16Z6
98 EJ6 4Dr D16Y7 project 300,000
  Reply With Quote
Old 11/23/2010, 03:04 AM   #12
Bryce
JDM Lover
 
Bryce's Avatar
 
Bryce is offline
Join Date: May 2010
Location: mitchellville
Posts: 62

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa

Not when the pictures are on a camera


__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripz_12 View Post
i was just asking haha i tought they were bfffs (best fucking friends for ever)
  Reply With Quote
Old 11/26/2010, 08:41 PM   #13
JimB
JDM Soldier
 
JimB's Avatar
 
JimB is offline
Join Date: May 2009
Location: -515-
Posts: 447

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa



I've always loved the MEANS10.

  Reply With Quote
Old 11/28/2010, 10:52 PM   #14
JakeBrehm
JDM Knight
 
JakeBrehm's Avatar
 
JakeBrehm is offline
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: DSM
Posts: 523

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa

Matt and Bryce please speak english lol

  Reply With Quote
Old 12/05/2010, 11:18 PM   #15
JRSC_EK
JDM Knight
 
JRSC_EK's Avatar
 
JRSC_EK is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ... Secret
Posts: 597

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa

its english, just not info honda guys wouldnt usually understand... hahaha


__________________

DC integra B18cR

Cars arent built for garage ornaments.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12/28/2010, 12:17 AM   #16
Bryce
JDM Lover
 
Bryce's Avatar
 
Bryce is offline
Join Date: May 2010
Location: mitchellville
Posts: 62

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa

Alright a little update got a new cam don't have the specs got it from my uncle its a elgin cam and its the highest you can go with no stall and got A gear drive for those of you that don't know what it is its for timing and instead Of a chain or belt its gears way more presise and less likly to break and it sounds like stuperduper charger


__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripz_12 View Post
i was just asking haha i tought they were bfffs (best fucking friends for ever)
  Reply With Quote
Old 01/02/2011, 11:11 AM   #17
Em1LuiSiR
AWFD
 
Em1LuiSiR's Avatar
 
Em1LuiSiR is offline
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: DMI
Posts: 1,139

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa

good stuff man


__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim-mohoney View Post
Ill pass on trade. Only looking for hundos.
I get cheap OEM replacment body parts.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01/30/2011, 11:13 PM   #18
Bryce
JDM Lover
 
Bryce's Avatar
 
Bryce is offline
Join Date: May 2010
Location: mitchellville
Posts: 62

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa

just waiting to get my parts fr jrsc_ek paint them and get it back together
test fit before frame paint
after


__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripz_12 View Post
i was just asking haha i tought they were bfffs (best fucking friends for ever)
  Reply With Quote
Old 02/08/2011, 11:41 AM   #19
mycarslow
JDM Knight
 
mycarslow is offline
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: e dale iowa
Posts: 891

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa

whats new with this thing man lookin good


__________________

Built h22 62mm turbo e85
  Reply With Quote
Old 02/08/2011, 03:46 PM   #20
MidoriB18t
Newbie
 
MidoriB18t's Avatar
 
MidoriB18t is offline
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 14

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa

I've always wanted to do one of these! There's a video of one of a LS10 on Youtube that's turbocharged. About sold my house and moved back into an apt to build one! I mean, a guys gotta have priorities, right?! lol.

Looks great man! Keep up the good work!


__________________

97 Civic Ex I/E - Sold
96 Civic Cx B16 I/H/E - Sold
99 Civic Si I/FC - Traded
96 Civic Dx B18T - Current
96 Civic Dx stock - Totaled
  Reply With Quote
Old 02/09/2011, 01:43 AM   #21
Bryce
JDM Lover
 
Bryce's Avatar
 
Bryce is offline
Join Date: May 2010
Location: mitchellville
Posts: 62

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa

there really hasnt been much done to the truck latley going to be getting my suspension back and paint it and get it back on so the truck will be a roller then can go to the exaust shop for 3 inch true duals and thanks for the compliments ill keep you boys updated


__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripz_12 View Post
i was just asking haha i tought they were bfffs (best fucking friends for ever)
  Reply With Quote
Old 03/17/2011, 05:29 AM   #22
mattcossel29
jackstand ballin
 
mattcossel29's Avatar
 
mattcossel29 is offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Newton, IA
Posts: 1,064

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa

Any updates?


__________________

Romans 6:23 - "For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life through Christ Jesus our Lord."

  Reply With Quote
Old 03/17/2011, 12:27 PM   #23
LowNsloEJ6
1SickUA7
 
LowNsloEJ6's Avatar
 
LowNsloEJ6 is offline
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,929

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa

yeah.. it got started the other day... fired right up. ill let bryce explain the rest


__________________

08 TL-S
97 EJ6 D16Z6
98 EJ6 4Dr D16Y7 project 300,000
  Reply With Quote
Old 03/17/2011, 06:16 PM   #24
Bryce
JDM Lover
 
Bryce's Avatar
 
Bryce is offline
Join Date: May 2010
Location: mitchellville
Posts: 62

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa

Matt like Joe said it fired the other day cranked like twice then fired had to adjust the time for it to run after that it was smooth sailing its all together except the hood and bumper and exaust the dials should go on this weekend or at least find someone to do it after exaust have to adjust the lifters and timing and she will be on the road no pics my internet is down so if gay Joe adds the pictires I sent him you could see what she looks like


__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripz_12 View Post
i was just asking haha i tought they were bfffs (best fucking friends for ever)
  Reply With Quote
Old 08/08/2011, 12:33 PM   #25
EEWagonKiD
(BANNED)
 
EEWagonKiD is offline
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Des Moines, I.A., 515!!!!
Posts: 444

 
Default Re: double motor size....whaaaaaa

hell ya!

  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.