JDMCITY.COM
Advertise with us!

Go Back   JDMCITY.COM > Technical Forum > Tuning

Reply
 
Old 08/15/2012, 11:24 PM   #1
tegraDUDE
JDM Lover
 
tegraDUDE is offline
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Des Moines
Posts: 83

 
Default What ecu do i need?

I just bought a 92 prelude with h22a1 but its auto. I think it has a h23 ecu. What would be the best ecu i could get?

  Reply With Quote
Old 08/15/2012, 11:41 PM   #2
H22APWRD94
The Tranny Guy
 
H22APWRD94 is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,007

 
Default Re: What ecu do i need?

Pictures of said H22A1 attached to an auto?

  Reply With Quote
Old 08/16/2012, 10:16 PM   #3
tegraDUDE
JDM Lover
 
tegraDUDE is offline
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Des Moines
Posts: 83

 
Default Re: What ecu do i need?

What, is something wrong?

  Reply With Quote
Old 08/16/2012, 10:31 PM   #4
H22APWRD94
The Tranny Guy
 
H22APWRD94 is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,007

 
Default Re: What ecu do i need?

No, just extremely rare. Would like to see for sure.

  Reply With Quote
Old 08/16/2012, 11:30 PM   #5
tegraDUDE
JDM Lover
 
tegraDUDE is offline
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Des Moines
Posts: 83

 
Default Re: What ecu do i need?

Well ill take pic tomorrow, its alittle late atm.

  Reply With Quote
Old 08/17/2012, 02:24 AM   #6
Dj Technick
テクニック☆スライド
 
Dj Technick's Avatar
 
Dj Technick is offline
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,475

 
Default Re: What ecu do i need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by H22APWRD94 View Post
No, just extremely rare. Would like to see for sure.
I didn't know it was even an option.


__________________


Damn that's a good lookin' pixel car ;)
  Reply With Quote
Old 08/17/2012, 07:55 AM   #7
H22APWRD94
The Tranny Guy
 
H22APWRD94 is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,007

 
Default Re: What ecu do i need?

It was never an option in the states. And in 1992, there was no H22, so it has to either be a swap, or he is mistaken. That is why I wanted a picture. Then were very few H22 autos out there. I believe the most common was in the Accord, but I thought most of those were H23's. Either way, I would like to verify the H22 attached to an auto before I try and find an answer.

  Reply With Quote
Old 08/17/2012, 02:58 PM   #8
tegraDUDE
JDM Lover
 
tegraDUDE is offline
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Des Moines
Posts: 83

 
Default Re: What ecu do i need?

Hey do you have a cell number i can send the pics too?

  Reply With Quote
Old 08/22/2012, 11:35 AM   #9
WideOpenRacing15
JDM Soldier
 
WideOpenRacing15 is offline
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Des Moines
Posts: 136

 
Default Re: What ecu do i need?

No offense but if you're going to be on this site you might as well learn how to use photobucket. You can even upload to photobucket from most smartphones.


__________________

1969 Chevy 3/4 ton - project
1968 GTO - super long term project
2000 Civic - DD
  Reply With Quote
Old 08/22/2012, 10:52 PM   #10
tegraDUDE
JDM Lover
 
tegraDUDE is offline
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Des Moines
Posts: 83

 
Default Re: What ecu do i need?

i have a very old phone lol broke my droud =( but yea its a h22a in my 92 automatic prelude!

  Reply With Quote
Old 08/23/2012, 09:18 AM   #11
Dj Technick
テクニック☆スライド
 
Dj Technick's Avatar
 
Dj Technick is offline
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,475

 
Default Re: What ecu do i need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tegraDUDE View Post
i have a very old phone lol broke my droud =( but yea its a h22a in my 92 automatic prelude!
It's just the H22A? No numbers afterwards? If so then that's the JDM motor meaning that motor has been swapped, which then I can see the auto trans being that it was probably an H23 auto lude prior to the swap. Could you verify what trans is in the car by giving us the numbers off the transmission tag?

^^ This is what I am assuming is going on. What ecu is in the car right now? If you don't know where it's located or how to tell what it is, it's right by the passenger door under the glove box. They are on the side and not under the carpet like in most other hondas. Here's a little pic to show you.



See what ECU it is that's in your car, I'm just curious what it's been running off of.

As for what ecu you will need you will need an automatic ecu, I don't know ecu codes well at all so I can't tell you what ecu code you will need.


__________________


Damn that's a good lookin' pixel car ;)
  Reply With Quote
Old 08/23/2012, 12:53 PM   #12
crxh22honda
JDM King
 
crxh22honda's Avatar
 
crxh22honda is offline
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: norwalk
Posts: 1,231

 
Default Re: What ecu do i need?

Send me the pics if your not gonna post it 515-868-2704

  Reply With Quote
Old 08/23/2012, 03:02 PM   #13
H22APWRD94
The Tranny Guy
 
H22APWRD94 is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,007

 
Default Re: What ecu do i need?

From memory, Preludes and Accords had separate TCM's, so all may not be lost.

  Reply With Quote
Old 08/23/2012, 06:03 PM   #14
Dj Technick
テクニック☆スライド
 
Dj Technick's Avatar
 
Dj Technick is offline
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,475

 
Default Re: What ecu do i need?

I'm sure a chipped auto ecu would work also...at least it should. I don't have any experience with auto setups so I'm not 100% on that.


__________________


Damn that's a good lookin' pixel car ;)
  Reply With Quote
Old 08/27/2012, 08:02 AM   #15
crxh22honda
JDM King
 
crxh22honda's Avatar
 
crxh22honda is offline
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: norwalk
Posts: 1,231

 
Default Re: What ecu do i need?





These are the pic he sent me. Its a jdm motor. I think i can even see a hmo badge.

  Reply With Quote
Old 08/27/2012, 09:15 AM   #16
Dj Technick
テクニック☆スライド
 
Dj Technick's Avatar
 
Dj Technick is offline
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,475

 
Default Re: What ecu do i need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crxh22honda View Post




These are the pic he sent me. Its a jdm motor. I think i can even see a hmo badge.
Its hard to see but it sure does look like there's an HMO stamp on it.


__________________


Damn that's a good lookin' pixel car ;)
  Reply With Quote
Old 08/28/2012, 11:11 PM   #17
nrg93
(BANNED)
 
nrg93 is offline
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: lurkin' da hoods
Posts: 32

 
Default Re: What ecu do i need?

Just tune it on 4the fmu's mothafuckas, Chad gates style

  Reply With Quote
Old 09/05/2012, 10:16 PM   #18
tegraDUDE
JDM Lover
 
tegraDUDE is offline
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Des Moines
Posts: 83

 
Default Re: What ecu do i need?

^ huh? lol

  Reply With Quote
Old 09/10/2012, 06:23 PM   #19
one_slow_ej
JDM Soldier
 
one_slow_ej's Avatar
 
one_slow_ej is offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: E.14th Des Moines!
Posts: 434

 
Default Re: What ecu do i need?

auto p28 tuned on crome would be best.... I might be wrong but i think thats pretty much the only way since auto h22's only came in bb6's here and those have a seperate computor for the tranny so you couldnt use one of those... just swap the car to a manual or back to a h23..


__________________


used parts, general maintenance, swaps, dyno tunes.


95 civic dx.. 6.9@104mph 1/8 mile
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.