JDMCITY.COM
Advertise with us!

Go Back   JDMCITY.COM > Technical Forum > Tuning

Reply
 
Old 06/20/2013, 11:21 AM   #1
michaelx43
JDM Soldier
 
michaelx43's Avatar
 
michaelx43 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ankeny, Iowa
Posts: 242

 
Default 2 step launch control rpm

What rpm would be the best choice for 2 step launching for my b20z? I'm hearing 4k but I wanted to see what you guys think. Thanks

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/20/2013, 01:26 PM   #2
TheMaster
JDM Soldier
 
TheMaster's Avatar
 
TheMaster is offline
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Okinawa, Japan
Posts: 268

 
Default Re: 2 step launch control rpm

Depends on what tires you're running, what track your at, what the conditions are, if your on the street...

There are a lot of factors that go into play. If you've got some really nice sticky tires and your just wanting this for the street 3500-4000 is usually where you'll find the best launch at. If you've got the option for whoever is tuning your car, see if they are willing to go out on the street with you for 5min so you can do 4-5 launches trying different RPM until you're happy with it.

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/20/2013, 01:35 PM   #3
KA7_Legend
gt4 coming soon
 
KA7_Legend's Avatar
 
KA7_Legend is offline
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: your mom'$ vagina
Posts: 1,437

 
Default Re: 2 step launch control rpm

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMaster View Post
Depends on what tires you're running, what track your at, what the conditions are, if your on the street...

There are a lot of factors that go into play. If you've got some really nice sticky tires and your just wanting this for the street 3500-4000 is usually where you'll find the best launch at. If you've got the option for whoever is tuning your car, see if they are willing to go out on the street with you for 5min so you can do 4-5 launches trying different RPM until you're happy with it.
Well if you use gear oil... You wont be going anywhere lol JK

Every motor is different plus, what chasis is the b20 in?

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/20/2013, 04:00 PM   #4
michaelx43
JDM Soldier
 
michaelx43's Avatar
 
michaelx43 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ankeny, Iowa
Posts: 242

 
Default Re: 2 step launch control rpm

Quote:
Originally Posted by KA7_Legend View Post
Well if you use gear oil... You wont be going anywhere lol JK

Every motor is different plus, what chasis is the b20 in?
It's in my integra. I'm running the Falken Ziex ZE-512 195/50's but i heard they don't hook up too well. Right now i'm working on my car's body then later on the engine, so it's not a major concern at the moment. As of now the launch control will just be for street use, nothing serious just for fun but hopefully see a track someday

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/20/2013, 04:27 PM   #5
crxh22honda
JDM King
 
crxh22honda's Avatar
 
crxh22honda is offline
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: norwalk
Posts: 1,231

 
Default Re: 2 step launch control rpm

How much HP and tq? Do you have a Dyno of it? It would help to see the graph

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/20/2013, 06:16 PM   #6
99eclipse
JDM King
 
99eclipse's Avatar
 
99eclipse is offline
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Moravia Iowa
Posts: 1,128

 
Default Re: 2 step launch control rpm

my awd launched hard at 6500


__________________

96 civic coupe dd
99 eclipse built :)


When one turbo isn't enough get two!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/20/2013, 07:55 PM   #7
crxh22honda
JDM King
 
crxh22honda's Avatar
 
crxh22honda is offline
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: norwalk
Posts: 1,231

 
Default Re: 2 step launch control rpm

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99eclipse View Post
my awd launched hard at 6500
150tq..........

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/20/2013, 08:59 PM   #8
99eclipse
JDM King
 
99eclipse's Avatar
 
99eclipse is offline
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Moravia Iowa
Posts: 1,128

 
Default Re: 2 step launch control rpm

Unsure but still.fun
lol


__________________

96 civic coupe dd
99 eclipse built :)


When one turbo isn't enough get two!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/20/2013, 10:28 PM   #9
michaelx43
JDM Soldier
 
michaelx43's Avatar
 
michaelx43 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ankeny, Iowa
Posts: 242

 
Default Re: 2 step launch control rpm

Quote:
Originally Posted by crxh22honda View Post
How much HP and tq? Do you have a Dyno of it? It would help to see the graph
Well, bone stock the specs are Power: 143 hp (107 kW) @ 6200 rpm. Torque: 133 lbft (180 Nm) @ 5600 rpm according to wikipedia. Not really any bolt ons aside from exhaust and intake. This car by no means is going to be a full on race car but i'm getting a p28 so I figured why not have some fun chip it with my basemap and a little launch control with rev limiter until I find another gsr head later on.

Last edited by michaelx43; 06/21/2013 at 12:43 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06/21/2013, 10:05 AM   #10
TheMaster
JDM Soldier
 
TheMaster's Avatar
 
TheMaster is offline
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Okinawa, Japan
Posts: 268

 
Default Re: 2 step launch control rpm

Like I said before somewhere between 3500-4000. How much do you want to spin off the launch will be your determining factor. If you don't really know then do 3750. You'll get some spin there but if you know how to drive you'll be fine. Remember, even though you have launch control doesn't mean you can hold your foot to the floor off the launch.

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/21/2013, 10:48 AM   #11
crxh22honda
JDM King
 
crxh22honda's Avatar
 
crxh22honda is offline
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: norwalk
Posts: 1,231

 
Default Re: 2 step launch control rpm

Launch control can be pretty lame to. Mine sometime would heist during a launch. I still may have being giving it to much gas tho.

A few times I've had problems with wanting to rev it higher and I couldn't. Like doing a burn out to warm the tires or just clean them off. Especially when I wanted to burn out from second, sometimes the tires would grip a little to much.(at the track) mine was only set at 3100 tho.



You also dont wanna just drop the clutch on the launch erither. If you didn't know had to let it slip a bit.took me along time to get it perfect.

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/21/2013, 10:49 AM   #12
michaelx43
JDM Soldier
 
michaelx43's Avatar
 
michaelx43 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ankeny, Iowa
Posts: 242

 
Default Re: 2 step launch control rpm

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMaster View Post
Like I said before somewhere between 3500-4000. How much do you want to spin off the launch will be your determining factor. If you don't really know then do 3750. You'll get some spin there but if you know how to drive you'll be fine. Remember, even though you have launch control doesn't mean you can hold your foot to the floor off the launch.
Yeah I plan on holding to the floor, launching from every stop nbd

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/21/2013, 10:52 AM   #13
michaelx43
JDM Soldier
 
michaelx43's Avatar
 
michaelx43 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ankeny, Iowa
Posts: 242

 
Default Re: 2 step launch control rpm

Quote:
Originally Posted by crxh22honda View Post
Launch control can be pretty lame to. Mine sometime would heist during a launch. I still may have being giving it to much gas tho.

A few times I've had problems with wanting to rev it higher and I couldn't. Like doing a burn out to warm the tires or just clean them off. Especially when I wanted to burn out from second, sometimes the tires would grip a little to much.(at the track) mine was only set at 3100 tho.



You also dont wanna just drop the clutch on the launch erither. If you didn't know had to let it slip a bit.took me along time to get it perfect.
I'll have to do a little playing around with it once it's all said and done. A few buddies of mine and I are wanting to take my car down to pacific junction in council bluffs to their track sometime.

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/21/2013, 10:57 AM   #14
crxh22honda
JDM King
 
crxh22honda's Avatar
 
crxh22honda is offline
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: norwalk
Posts: 1,231

 
Default Re: 2 step launch control rpm

No he means. When you are launching you dont hold your foot to the floor ever. The revs will bounce to slow sometimes causing it bog

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/21/2013, 11:09 AM   #15
TheMaster
JDM Soldier
 
TheMaster's Avatar
 
TheMaster is offline
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Okinawa, Japan
Posts: 268

 
Default Re: 2 step launch control rpm

Quote:
Originally Posted by crxh22honda View Post
No he means. When you are launching you dont hold your foot to the floor ever. The revs will bounce to slow sometimes causing it bog
^^ This and also you don't want to hold it to the floor causing a harsh spin. You want a controlled spin for the best launch.

  Reply With Quote
Old 06/21/2013, 11:13 AM   #16
michaelx43
JDM Soldier
 
michaelx43's Avatar
 
michaelx43 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ankeny, Iowa
Posts: 242

 
Default Re: 2 step launch control rpm

Thanks for the info gentlemen

  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.