JDMCITY.COM
Advertise with us!

Go Back   JDMCITY.COM > Technical Forum > Forced Induction & Nitrous

Reply
 
Old 11/18/2012, 10:00 PM   #1
99eclipse
JDM King
 
99eclipse's Avatar
 
99eclipse is offline
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Moravia Iowa
Posts: 1,129

 
Default running rich

it idle i am running rich as can be going from around 10.0-11.2 on my wideband, the same when im cruising regularly, but once i start to try to go into boost it starts to get lean and cuts out, the car was running pefect before and had a solid tune, any ideas what could be going on? Im running a portfuler so i should defintly not be running this rich at idle or without being in boost,

  Reply With Quote
Old 11/19/2012, 08:40 PM   #2
one_slow_ej
JDM Soldier
 
one_slow_ej's Avatar
 
one_slow_ej is offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: E.14th Des Moines!
Posts: 434

 
Default Re: running rich

Timing belt slip a tooth? Ignition timing off somehow?


__________________


used parts, general maintenance, swaps, dyno tunes.


95 civic dx.. 6.9@104mph 1/8 mile
  Reply With Quote
Old 11/19/2012, 10:20 PM   #3
Hondacaped
JDM Fan
 
Hondacaped is offline
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 41

 
Default Re: running rich

Ha ha Sean u know things about dsm lmao

  Reply With Quote
Old 11/20/2012, 06:54 AM   #4
99eclipse
JDM King
 
99eclipse's Avatar
 
99eclipse is offline
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Moravia Iowa
Posts: 1,129

 
Default Re: running rich

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hondacaped View Post
Ha ha Sean u know things about dsm lmao
his shop did tune my car, and did a very nice job
but no i dont think its timing, whatever it is happened when the engine bay got powerwashed,

  Reply With Quote
Old 11/20/2012, 01:25 PM   #5
Dj Technick
テクニック☆スライド
 
Dj Technick's Avatar
 
Dj Technick is offline
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,475

 
Default Re: running rich

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99eclipse View Post
his shop did tune my car, and did a very nice job
but no i dont think its timing, whatever it is happened when the engine bay got powerwashed,
Why would you powerwash your engine bay???? There's a nice lovely list of things you could have caused to go wrong.


__________________


Damn that's a good lookin' pixel car ;)
  Reply With Quote
Old 11/20/2012, 02:00 PM   #6
99eclipse
JDM King
 
99eclipse's Avatar
 
99eclipse is offline
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Moravia Iowa
Posts: 1,129

 
Default Re: running rich

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dj Technick View Post
Why would you powerwash your engine bay???? There's a nice lovely list of things you could have caused to go wrong.
cus im stupid
and i know we have changed all sensors and everything, cant seem to still even get it to run right out of boost, then soon as i start to get it a little throttle it hesitates and pop's and crackles, just cant seem to figure it out,

  Reply With Quote
Old 11/20/2012, 03:22 PM   #7
DSM4LIFE
JDM Knight
 
DSM4LIFE's Avatar
 
DSM4LIFE is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Des moines
Posts: 534

 
Default Re: running rich

all your intake hoses hooked up?

  Reply With Quote
Old 11/20/2012, 03:35 PM   #8
99eclipse
JDM King
 
99eclipse's Avatar
 
99eclipse is offline
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Moravia Iowa
Posts: 1,129

 
Default Re: running rich

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSM4LIFE View Post
all your intake hoses hooked up?
yup, ive checked everything i can think of,

  Reply With Quote
Old 11/20/2012, 04:03 PM   #9
Dj Technick
テクニック☆スライド
 
Dj Technick's Avatar
 
Dj Technick is offline
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,475

 
Default Re: running rich

Are you MAF, AFM, or MAP based? I can see blasting a maf or afm sensor causing a problem like that. Other then that I dont know how picky the other sensor are on DSM's.


__________________


Damn that's a good lookin' pixel car ;)
  Reply With Quote
Old 11/20/2012, 04:30 PM   #10
DSM4LIFE
JDM Knight
 
DSM4LIFE's Avatar
 
DSM4LIFE is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Des moines
Posts: 534

 
Default Re: running rich

you replace your TPS sensor?

  Reply With Quote
Old 11/20/2012, 04:31 PM   #11
99eclipse
JDM King
 
99eclipse's Avatar
 
99eclipse is offline
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Moravia Iowa
Posts: 1,129

 
Default Re: running rich

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dj Technick View Post
Are you MAF, AFM, or MAP based? I can see blasting a maf or afm sensor causing a problem like that. Other then that I dont know how picky the other sensor are on DSM's.
Swapping out maf will be my next step, and ya dsm sensors can be very picky,

  Reply With Quote
Old 11/20/2012, 08:42 PM   #12
99eclipse
JDM King
 
99eclipse's Avatar
 
99eclipse is offline
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Moravia Iowa
Posts: 1,129

 
Default Re: running rich

ok, i took of my missing link tonight and it went from running rich at idle to lean, so it tells me ive got an exhaust leak because once i start going it goes back to normal around 14.0's, so now just got to fix the leak then order a new tuner and tune again, hopefully big things out of this car in 2013,

  Reply With Quote
Old 11/21/2012, 07:50 AM   #13
Dj Technick
テクニック☆スライド
 
Dj Technick's Avatar
 
Dj Technick is offline
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,475

 
Default Re: running rich

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99eclipse View Post
ok, i took of my missing link tonight and it went from running rich at idle to lean, so it tells me ive got an exhaust leak because once i start going it goes back to normal around 14.0's, so now just got to fix the leak then order a new tuner and tune again, hopefully big things out of this car in 2013,
Why in the world are you running a missing link? Especially when you have a tuneable ecu. Rip that shit off there, it'll solve a lot of your problems.


__________________


Damn that's a good lookin' pixel car ;)
  Reply With Quote
Old 11/21/2012, 08:05 AM   #14
99eclipse
JDM King
 
99eclipse's Avatar
 
99eclipse is offline
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Moravia Iowa
Posts: 1,129

 
Default Re: running rich

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dj Technick View Post
Why in the world are you running a missing link? Especially when you have a tuneable ecu. Rip that shit off there, it'll solve a lot of your problems.
This is for a 420a not a 4g63t, with out a missing link if the car sees boost it will kill the maf,

  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.