JDMCITY.COM
Advertise with us!

Go Back   JDMCITY.COM > Technical Forum > Tuning

Reply
 
Old 08/28/2011, 11:38 AM   #1
kornfedb20
JDM Knight
 
kornfedb20's Avatar
 
kornfedb20 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: des moines
Posts: 563

 
Default who tunes dsmlink v3??

im going to be ordering my dsmlink v3 this friday and was wondering who to go to for tuning? the only real tuning problems ill have will be timing i dont get how to tune timing. only thing i understand is fuel. let me know if you got good experience tuning. im looking for a streetable tune nothing crazy.

  Reply With Quote
Old 08/30/2011, 10:32 AM   #2
Dsmolition
JDM Soldier
 
Dsmolition is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: IA
Posts: 152

 
Default Re: who tunes dsmlink v3??

Db performance has done work for me. Shane is the man and does good work. Its up by plymouth mn. well woth the drive.


__________________

93TSI- 624 AWHP 500 AWTQ
EVO VIII RR GSR (yet to dyno)
  Reply With Quote
Old 12/06/2011, 02:23 PM   #3
dsmtsi
JDM Fan
 
dsmtsi is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 39

 
Default Re: who tunes dsmlink v3??

I can tune dsmlink no problem.

  Reply With Quote
Old 12/06/2011, 03:01 PM   #4
Pancho
JDM Knight
 
Pancho's Avatar
 
Pancho is offline
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: des moines, iowa
Posts: 668

 
Default Re: who tunes dsmlink v3??

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsmtsi View Post
I can tune dsmlink no problem.
Where do you tune at?


__________________

92 Civic Hatch SI [Sold]
92 Talon Tsi AWD[Sold]
93 Civic Hatch SI [Sold]
  Reply With Quote
Old 12/07/2011, 10:35 AM   #5
dsmtsi
JDM Fan
 
dsmtsi is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 39

 
Default Re: who tunes dsmlink v3??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pancho View Post
Where do you tune at?
I normaly street tune, is your car AWD? I have the parts to make it FWD and we can tune at central imports.

  Reply With Quote
Old 12/07/2011, 01:48 PM   #6
Pancho
JDM Knight
 
Pancho's Avatar
 
Pancho is offline
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: des moines, iowa
Posts: 668

 
Default Re: who tunes dsmlink v3??

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsmtsi View Post
I normaly street tune, is your car AWD? I have the parts to make it FWD and we can tune at central imports.
Yes.. So you can set it up for FWD just for the tune??


__________________

92 Civic Hatch SI [Sold]
92 Talon Tsi AWD[Sold]
93 Civic Hatch SI [Sold]
  Reply With Quote
Old 12/07/2011, 09:57 PM   #7
XcreatonX
JDM Soldier
 
XcreatonX is offline
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: WDM
Posts: 206

 
Default Re: who tunes dsmlink v3??

DSMlink is very user friendly. Get on the forum and it will help you tune yourself.
Get your A/F in check then mess with the timing. What fuel are you using?


__________________

Support Iowa run corn
  Reply With Quote
Old 12/12/2011, 03:18 PM   #8
dsmtsi
JDM Fan
 
dsmtsi is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 39

 
Default Re: who tunes dsmlink v3??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pancho View Post
Yes.. So you can set it up for FWD just for the tune??
Yea, then back to AWD after it's off the dyno.

  Reply With Quote
Old 12/12/2011, 05:01 PM   #9
Pancho
JDM Knight
 
Pancho's Avatar
 
Pancho is offline
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: des moines, iowa
Posts: 668

 
Default Re: who tunes dsmlink v3??

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsmtsi View Post
Yea, then back to AWD after it's off the dyno.
Thats pretty cool.. Never knew that.. Well now I have to wait till spring to get my car done and then off to the dyno it'll go!!


__________________

92 Civic Hatch SI [Sold]
92 Talon Tsi AWD[Sold]
93 Civic Hatch SI [Sold]
  Reply With Quote
Old 12/12/2011, 05:03 PM   #10
Pancho
JDM Knight
 
Pancho's Avatar
 
Pancho is offline
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: des moines, iowa
Posts: 668

 
Default Re: who tunes dsmlink v3??

But is it gonna have any horsepower difference from dyno tuning awd?


__________________

92 Civic Hatch SI [Sold]
92 Talon Tsi AWD[Sold]
93 Civic Hatch SI [Sold]
  Reply With Quote
Old 12/12/2011, 05:57 PM   #11
H22APWRD94
The Tranny Guy
 
H22APWRD94 is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,007

 
Default Re: who tunes dsmlink v3??

Yes there would be a difference power wise between a FWD dyno reading and an AWD dyno reading just because there is parasitic loss inherent with the drivetrain design. Does not mean that it is not making the exact same power at the flywheel. But, the dyno is just a tool, and the output numbers don't mean much without a 1/4 mile MPH at the track to back them up.

  Reply With Quote
Old 12/12/2011, 07:37 PM   #12
Pancho
JDM Knight
 
Pancho's Avatar
 
Pancho is offline
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: des moines, iowa
Posts: 668

 
Default Re: who tunes dsmlink v3??

Quote:
Originally Posted by H22APWRD94 View Post
Yes there would be a difference power wise between a FWD dyno reading and an AWD dyno reading just because there is parasitic loss inherent with the drivetrain design. Does not mean that it is not making the exact same power at the flywheel. But, the dyno is just a tool, and the output numbers don't mean much without a 1/4 mile MPH at the track to back them up.
Yea.. Probably gonna go to awd dyno.. Its better to get exact numbers.. I'd use FWD setup to tune only if I was deeply in need of it.. Thanks for the info


__________________

92 Civic Hatch SI [Sold]
92 Talon Tsi AWD[Sold]
93 Civic Hatch SI [Sold]
  Reply With Quote
Old 12/12/2011, 10:53 PM   #13
H22APWRD94
The Tranny Guy
 
H22APWRD94 is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,007

 
Default Re: who tunes dsmlink v3??

Ok, still just a number, but to each his own. Explain to me how it is better to get exact numbers? There really is no "exact" numbers. My MPH is pretty well correlated to my weight vs HP numbers, but since my car makes power so late, and I have not gotten my launch down yet, the ET is nowhere close to the MPH.

Last edited by H22APWRD94; 12/12/2011 at 10:57 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12/12/2011, 11:08 PM   #14
Pancho
JDM Knight
 
Pancho's Avatar
 
Pancho is offline
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: des moines, iowa
Posts: 668

 
Default Re: who tunes dsmlink v3??

I'm talking about getting my power numbers on awd dyno instead of the FWD..
Then takin it to the track and looking at my times there


__________________

92 Civic Hatch SI [Sold]
92 Talon Tsi AWD[Sold]
93 Civic Hatch SI [Sold]
  Reply With Quote
Old 12/13/2011, 12:24 PM   #15
dsmtsi
JDM Fan
 
dsmtsi is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 39

 
Default Re: who tunes dsmlink v3??

For the cost and travel time I don't think it matters. Dyno FWD you'll have a bigger number and then go out and have fun. Dyno is just a tool to tune, using them to get HP is just an added bonus. Every dyno is diffrent, the only thing they all have in common is they always kick you in the sack.

  Reply With Quote
Old 12/13/2011, 08:46 PM   #16
Charlie Moua
JDM King
 
Charlie Moua's Avatar
 
Charlie Moua is offline
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,156

 
Default Re: who tunes dsmlink v3??

http://www.jordantuned.com/Services.html

known him for over 8yrs...

  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.