JDMCITY.COM
Advertise with us!

Go Back   JDMCITY.COM > Technical Forum > Tuning

Reply
 
Old 01/07/2013, 04:56 PM   #1
turboteggy
JDM Lover
 
turboteggy's Avatar
 
turboteggy is offline
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ames,IA
Posts: 88

 
Default tuning with crome

im wondering if anyone has any pointers on tuning with crome? ive been messing around with it for a while now and im bout to start burning. anything will help thanks


__________________

when the turbo spins the bullshit ends.
VTEC all day!!! well till you run out of oil.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01/07/2013, 05:43 PM   #2
Tommy
...
 
Tommy is offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,478

 
Default Re: tuning with crome

Quote:
Originally Posted by turboteggy View Post
im wondering if anyone has any pointers on tuning with crome? ive been messing around with it for a while now and im bout to start burning. anything will help thanks
Step one: Throw software away.
Step two: Buy S300, AEM, Neptune RTP or ECTune.
Step three: Re-tune

  Reply With Quote
Old 01/08/2013, 10:55 AM   #3
Charlie Moua
JDM King
 
Charlie Moua's Avatar
 
Charlie Moua is offline
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,156

 
Default Re: tuning with crome

everyone has to start somewhere ... crome is a good and will work just fine for most setups.

bang for buck i still go with crome


however there are certain setups which require more fine tuning due to unique setup, way big injectors, different sensors, and not to mention some customers who want features like datalogging, cop, boost by gear, nos, meth injection ect which crome simply will not do.

if your simple NA or sc/turbo setup crome is fine.


__________________


CNC Werx
team4piston
Jordan Tuned
Rocket Motorsports
Modern Automotive Performance
  Reply With Quote
Old 01/08/2013, 11:01 AM   #4
crxh22honda
JDM King
 
crxh22honda's Avatar
 
crxh22honda is offline
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: norwalk
Posts: 1,231

 
Default Re: tuning with crome

But ive always heard crome wont get you home...

  Reply With Quote
Old 01/08/2013, 02:08 PM   #5
Dj Technick
テクニック☆スライド
 
Dj Technick's Avatar
 
Dj Technick is offline
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,475

 
Default Re: tuning with crome

Quote:
Originally Posted by crxh22honda View Post
But ive always heard crome wont get you home...
Bobby your car was tuned on Chrome for how many years? It got you home...60% of the time, all the time.


__________________


Damn that's a good lookin' pixel car ;)
  Reply With Quote
Old 01/08/2013, 02:27 PM   #6
H22APWRD94
The Tranny Guy
 
H22APWRD94 is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,007

 
Default Re: tuning with crome

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie Moua View Post
everyone has to start somewhere ... crome is a good and will work just fine for most setups.

bang for buck i still go with crome


however there are certain setups which require more fine tuning due to unique setup, way big injectors, different sensors, and not to mention some customers who want features like datalogging, cop, boost by gear, nos, meth injection ect which crome simply will not do.

if your simple NA or sc/turbo setup crome is fine.
I agree to a point Charlie, but by the time you buy the hardware needed for tuning on Crome, you have roughly 150-200 into hardware. For $399, you can get a Neptune RTP and license that gives you just about everything most novices, and many sportsman racers, could ever possibly need. With realtime tuning and datalogging, built right in.

  Reply With Quote
Old 01/09/2013, 04:47 AM   #7
crxh22honda
JDM King
 
crxh22honda's Avatar
 
crxh22honda is offline
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: norwalk
Posts: 1,231

 
Default Re: tuning with crome

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dj Technick View Post
Bobby your car was tuned on Chrome for how many years? It got you home...60% of the time, all the time.
but now its been sitting for 15months....omg shoot me.....yeah i have know idea on tuning stuff. but i do remember brian having some trouble with burning it on to a chip. for some reason after he tuned it, he burned it and the map was throw off. he ended up getting it right pretty quickly. but why it happen i have no idea.

  Reply With Quote
Old 03/07/2014, 08:21 PM   #8
John Williams
Newbie
 
John Williams is offline
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1

 
Default Re: tuning with crome

I've been wanting to play with crome and been wanting to burn a base map for myself. I've ordered the eprom burner2 and installed crome on my computer. Anyways, theres one thing I don't understand about crome and tuning.


__________________

Auto Diagnostic Tools
  Reply With Quote
Old 03/08/2014, 05:22 AM   #9
crxh22honda
JDM King
 
crxh22honda's Avatar
 
crxh22honda is offline
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: norwalk
Posts: 1,231

 
Default Re: tuning with crome

John willams? With the 240sx? I'm 100% positive, I would if I was you I wouldnt Put chrome on that car. It's not detailed enough, I wouldn't cut short on tuning. Especially with how much money is already in the car. Maybe you have another car and you just wanna fuck around with it we have all been there.

  Reply With Quote
Old 03/08/2014, 05:23 AM   #10
crxh22honda
JDM King
 
crxh22honda's Avatar
 
crxh22honda is offline
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: norwalk
Posts: 1,231

 
Default Re: tuning with crome

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dj Technick View Post
Bobby your car was tuned on Chrome for how many years? It got you home...60% of the time, all the time.
This was not a lie.

  Reply With Quote
Old 03/17/2014, 01:43 PM   #11
E-FAB
Precise Fab
 
E-FAB's Avatar
 
E-FAB is offline
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 358

 
Default Re: tuning with crome

You could also bring it to us at central-imports and for a N/A tune with neptune is 375$ and boosted is 425$ or crome N/A 300$ and boosted 350$ thats the easy way to do it instead of learning on your own engine.

contact Sean@central-imports to schedule an appointment 515-491-6614


__________________

92 VX LS-Vtec
508whp-344ft on 24psi
P.B 10.64@137mph

"We are always thankful for the continued support from our friends and customers!"
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.